No more annoying Safari refresh?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by JZ Wire, May 1, 2010.

  1. JZ Wire macrumors regular

    JZ Wire

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #1
    Ok, I remember at bit back people were complaining about Safari on the iPad refreshing every time you would switch tabs. I believe I saw that same behavior at the Apple store several days ago.
    However, on my 3G iPad ive opened seven tabs and ive switched between all of them and no refresh. Even after closing safari, when i go back all my tabs are there and I can open them without having to reload the tab.

    Is anyone with a 3G iPad also getting these results??
     
  2. LouieSamman macrumors 6502a

    LouieSamman

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #2
    The tab refreshing happens to me and I have the iPad 3G.

    Sometimes it does it and sometimes it don't.

    I don't mind knowing that with an update this can be fixed later by apple.
     
  3. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #3
    I don't think having an iPad 3G will help this problem. It's a software issue in conjunction with the minimal RAM. But as Opera Mini has proven, 256MB is plenty to keep many tabs open.

    It will *hopefully* be fixed via. a software update.
     
  4. Peanut207 macrumors 6502

    Peanut207

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
  5. VladM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #5
    It will not be sorted out via a software update because it is a hardware issue, namely the lack of RAM. The reason why it happens only sometimes is because it depends on how resourve intensive the current mix of opened pages is. I.e. browsing forums over 4 pages will probably not cause refreshing when switching, but browsing more content rich pages will.
     
  6. p-rice macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #6
    It really depends on the website you have running. I'm betting it'll be fixed with the 4.0 update.

    However, the Atomic Browser works wonders. Go get it if you are annoyed by the refreshes in Safari like me.
     
  7. jalpert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #7
    I'm using atomic browser right now. It's a tad slower than safari in loading but the tabs are excellent. Safari for iPad needs some work.
     
  8. Chris Grande macrumors regular

    Chris Grande

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #8
  9. master-ceo macrumors 65816

    master-ceo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    The SUN
    #9
    I like speed so I use the Downloader Browser. No Tabs, but its fast.
     
  10. timothevs macrumors 6502

    timothevs

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    FL
    #10
    + 1 for atomic browser. The annoying refresh problem drove me to this browser, and I am glad I bought it. My only gripe is that I can't access my Safari bookmarks on Atomic. Oh well.
     
  11. barefeats macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #11
    Atomic is the "bomb." With real tabs and search current webpage, I'm sold.
     
  12. Imidazole macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #12
    Yeah, try this in safari: Start replying to a Macrumors post, or writing your own... switch to another "tab/window", then switch back.

    Bye bye your reply/post.
     
  13. jbouklas macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    #13
    I used Safari for about 5 minutes, then installed Atomic. It's awesome- I can have multiple tabs open at once, and go back and forth without having them refresh.

    It's also got a ton of features like ad blocking and browser spoofing. Really neat. The interface is nice, but could use a little polish (and I think they're working on that for future updates).

    Highly recommended.
     
  14. redman042 macrumors 68030

    redman042

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #14
    You can't add more RAM with a software update, but you can optimize how much RAM the OS and the browser uses. I do believe there's some room for improvement here. On my iPhone 3Gs, opening the full CNN site only uses 22 MB of RAM (dropping available RAM from 135 to 113). I'm using SBSettings on a jailbroken phone to get this info. So I don't see why the iPad should be drastically different.

    I get the sense (from various forum posts) that the current iPad OS is a bit buggy and 4.0 will bring much-needed improvement. I also anticipate a point release before 4.0. Hang in there.
     
  15. iPadztr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    Pluto avenue
    #15
    I'm new to this forum and I just got my iPad yesterday.... My experience seems the other way around.. Safari will not refresh when I closed my browser and go back... Atomic on the other hand, it reloads everytime... Am I doing something wrong? Any input would be greatly appreciated.. Ty!
     
  16. ren857 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #16
    That has been my experience as well. However, what I believe the other folks are talking about is switching between windows/tabs in the browser as opposed to switching applications - actually closing the browser, then going back to it.
     
  17. pruppert macrumors 6502

    pruppert

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #17
    You can import your bookmarks from safari on the desktop into atomic. Just go into the atomic settings and click on the import bookmarks option. Then follow those instructions.
     
  18. Travisimo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    #18
    I love the atomic browser, but it's one fatal flaw IMO is that it reloads ALL tabs when you first start the program. specifically, I want it to remember the tabs I had open, but I don't want it to reload them all when I first start the program. Safari will reload when switching between windows, but does not reload ALL windows when you first launch it - just the current window.

    Atomic needs a setting here it still remembers all the tabs you had open during last session, but doesn't automatically reload them all from the Internet when you launch the browser.
     
  19. flyguy206 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #19
    It has nothing to do with ram. it something wrong with safri it will be fixed soon. Apple will wait into the jailbreak and then update.
     
  20. iPadztr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    Pluto avenue
    #20
    Oh ok... Ty for the info
     
  21. aleni macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #21
    iOS 4 fixed this behaviour in my 3GS. it's sure will for the iPad too once the iOS 4 for it released.
     
  22. kdarling macrumors demi-god

    kdarling

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    First university coding class = 46 years ago
    #22
    Depends on the site. According to tests someone did last year:

    • Safari for iPhone will only cache files 25 KB or smaller served using the Expires explicit expiration time or Cache-Control max-age directive HTTP headers.
    • Safari decodes the file before saving it to cache, meaning your total unzipped file size must squeeze under the 25 KB ceiling to hit the cache.
    • Components already in cache are only replaced by new cacheable components using the least recently used algorithm.
     
  23. aleni macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #23
    at least it's not reloading when
    i need 3-6 tabs when reading forum which is not a heavy site. for reading other websites like digg.com and other news sites, i only use 1 or 2 tabs, max 3 tabs.
     
  24. T4R06 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #24
    Enable the VM and it will bllw the atomic and icab..

    Im happy with my safari now
     
  25. b00st3d macrumors member

    b00st3d

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #25
    huh?!
     

Share This Page