NO More Beta for Me

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by Patches016, Aug 2, 2016.

  1. Patches016 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Location:
    Dayton Ohio
    #1
    I've been running beta since apple first offer them to the public. I had so many problem with Sierra, first and second. On my macbook late 2009. I had to wipe my computer clean and start off with El Captain. It was absolute mess nothing would work. If it booted up nothing loaded correctly.
    I still can work with iOS beta program.
     
  2. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #2
    There's the strong recommendation to install the beta software on a secondary system or device, or on a secondary partition.

    Luckily I have nearby a spare MacBookPro8,2 – it no longer recognises its keyboard or trackpad, and there's no battery, but it's good enough for beta testing. Also luckily I have a few spare disks, some of which are bad (the badness is good for some tests).

    I understand that not everyone is so lucky. Long ago in feedback to Apple I suggested the option of distributing virtual disk images comprising the pre-release software, to be used with software such as VirtualBox.
     
  3. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #3
    I have had no problems at all. Sorry that you did.

    On the bright side, you now have a clean install.
     
  4. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #4
    I don't think running the betas in a VM will really give them what they need to get rid of the bugs. It needs to be ran on a variety of real hardware to find problems with those devices. It also would not give a fair representation of the performance of the new OS, because it would be running on top of another OS, utilizing the RAM and CPU resources to run both OS at the same time, along with any and all applications running on the HOST and GUEST OS systems.
     
  5. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  6. tedson macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #6
    I tried the first 2 public betas on my mid 2011 Mac Mini but so many Sierra features will never work on it (Continuity/ Handoff features) and it introduced new bugs in previously working applications ( Map tile were displaying artifacts, Finder zooming was not working) that I downgraded to El Capitan.

    I'm not looking forward to when this gets released and El Capitan gets deprecated.
     
  7. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #7
    It's a beta. Just because some features don't work now doesn't mean they won't necessarily work on the final. That's why they have betas, to figure out what doesn't work and fix it.
     
  8. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #8

    Continuity / Handoff, should be able to work if you check out this thread, it will help you.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/continuity-activation-tool-cat-working-on-10-12-sierra.1977306/
     
  9. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #9
    Then the beta is working as it should. I assume you reported all those bugs?
     
  10. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #10
    +1

    The enhancement request was for an option, not a sole approach.
     

Share This Page