No more Network Utility?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by sou1 so1di3r, Jul 25, 2014.

  1. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #1
    Seems to have been removed from OSX? I actually use it to test network jack activity a lot :eek:
     
  2. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #2
    Probably just broken and not functional till a later beta or even release.
     
  3. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #3
    Mine is still there. Use spotlight search to find it.

    Screen Shot 2014-07-25 at 9.07.38 AM.png
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    Are you talking about the Network tab in Activity Monitor or the Network section of System Preferences? Both of which are there for me.
     
  5. judgedeath2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #5
    works fine here, i just launched it from Alfred.
     
  6. g-7 macrumors 6502

    g-7

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    Go to /System/Library/CoreServices/Applications.
     
  7. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #7
    Yeah, that utility is missing from my index in Spotlight but going to the location there finds it.
     
  8. sou1 so1di3r thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #8
    oh weird... yeah it wasn't showing when I searched but I could find it there.


    Thanks ! :eek:
     
  9. trixiesirisheye macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #9
    Spotlight=>Utilities Folder

    If you use the app enough, you can do a spotlight search for it, then drag the app from the list to the utilities folder. Since it's a system change, you'll be asked for your password. It's really dumb they've made this so much harder to locate, instead of being in the utilities folder.
     
  10. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #10
    best to make sure you're just putting an alias for the app in utilities, not actually moving it from coreservices (not a good idea to modify system files)...
     
  11. trixiesirisheye macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #11
    Normally, I would never modify a core file, but this app, I moved.
     
  12. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #12
    It's a bad idea to move it because the one you're using won't get updated when you do system updates. An alias is the right way to do it.
     
  13. trixiesirisheye macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #13
    Fair enough, except now I can't move it back. When I try to move it back to CoreServices, it creates an alias instead to the file in Utilities.
     
  14. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #14
    try option-dragging it, that should copy the file. once you're sure it's there, delete the one in utilities, then drag it back from coreservices, and make sure that that's an alias...
     
  15. trixiesirisheye macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #15
    Eh, well, now it's in both places and my system won't allow me to remove it from my Utilities folder. "'Network Utility.app” can’t be modified or deleted because it’s required by OS*X.'"
     
  16. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #16
    Try the following command in Terminal: sudo rm -rf /Applications/Utilities/Network\ Utility.app

    This should permanently delete the duplicate copy from Applications/Utilities.
     
  17. trixiesirisheye macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #17
    Perfecto. Thank you. I'm only slightly conversant in Terminal and command-line.
     
  18. DailySlow macrumors member

    DailySlow

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #18
    Thanks - docked it after following the crumbs to core services applications
     
  19. Partron22 macrumors 68000

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #19
    If you use the app frequently, you can make an Alias to it, (cmd L in Finder), and drag that to your App or Utilities folder.
     
  20. kirk@kpj2.com macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    #20
    Just create an alias, and put that into the Applications > Utility folder
     

Share This Page