No numpad????

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PAUL BRIAN, Oct 20, 2008.

  1. PAUL BRIAN macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #1
    my first gen core duo macbook had this feature! hold function and you can have numpad functionality using the middle section of the keyboard. i plan to use pro tools alot on this MBP and the numpad is your best friend for getting things done quick on that program. i can't believe this was taken out!
     
  2. Phrasikleia macrumors 601

    Phrasikleia

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Over there------->
    #2
    There may be some software solution to get that. You might try configuring something with Butler, for example. Otherwise, just get the external extended keyboard.
     
  3. PAUL BRIAN thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #3
    ^ it would have to be wireless :mad: ... i would hate to use a USB port on a keyboard for a laptop when the laptop itself has fewer ports on it already...
     
  4. Phrasikleia macrumors 601

    Phrasikleia

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Over there------->
    #4
    I just tried to do it with Butler: no problem, but you'll have to choose a different modifier key, since Butler doesn't recognize the Function key. Just set up which key+modifier you want to trigger which numbers and set Butler to make these changes work only in Pro Tools.

    Butler is great donation ware.
     
  5. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #5
    They took this out last gen, starting with penryn, no numb pad
     
  6. PAUL BRIAN thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008

Share This Page