No PCIe bootcamp support for Mac Pro?????

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by alw4416, Oct 28, 2007.

  1. alw4416 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #1
    Can someone please help? I have installed XP on my mac pro and everything works great except the fact that in the device manager I still have 4 items with yellow exclamation marks next to them. See below:

    Intel(R) 5000 Series Chipset PCI Express x4 Port 3 - 25E3
    Intel(R) 5000 Series Chipset PCI Express x4 Port 5 - 25E5
    Intel(R) 5000 Series Chipset PCI Express x4 Port 6 - 25E6
    Intel(R) 5000 Series Chipset PCI Express x4 Port 7 - 25E7

    I tried to install a card into one of the slots and when I reboot XP I get the dreaded BSOD! I have searched high and low for info, drivers, etc... and nothing. Someone please help! The terrible thing is this is from the latest version of bootcamp off leopard. After a little more research I have found others with the issue. I NEED THOSE PCIe SLOTS!!!:eek:
     
  2. Mac_Max macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    #2
  3. alw4416 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #3
    I have tried all of that and nothing fixes it. If you look at the date of those drivers from Intel it's 2006, Apple has included those believe me. I called Intel and the tech said simply it will not work. Those slots are not supported in any OS besides XP 64 or Vista 64, the problem is my application will not run under those OS's so I am out of luck and this sucks. There is no running Pro Tools HD on Mac Pro under Windows.
    :(
     
  4. Obli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #4
    do you mean that under bootcamp, there is absolutely NO PCIE support?

    I was planning on installing a PCIE video card to use for windows gaming
    and according to wikipedia this is possible

    >
    # It is important to note that even though the Mac Pro uses industry standard PCIe X16 expansion slots (which are used for modern PCIe X16 video cards), a user cannot simply buy a new PCIe X16 video card and install it into a Mac Pro and use it normally. Using a standard video card will work with Windows XP or Vista under Apple's Bootcamp setup, but will not work under Mac OS X or before the machine starts to boot into Windows. The reason for this is that Apple uses the EFI BIOS, which requires a video card that features a EFI compatible video card bios. Mac OS X requires an EFI Bios, but Windows XP runs under a standard BIOS emulated with Apple's Bootcamp. Thus a Mac user could use a powerful video card, such as a GeForce 8800 GTX, under Windows on a Mac Pro. With one monitor this would require investing in a VGA/DVI video or KVM switch for the user to switch between the "Mac" video card and the new "PC" video card when the user wishes to play games or other 3D applications in Windows

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_Pro
     
  5. alw4416 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #5
    I have a X1900XT video card and that works perfect under Windows. It's the second I install the Pro Tools PCIe cards that I get the BSOD. I don't know the specifics of why this does this, all I know is that I have tried everything there is to try and it will not work. I have 3 Pro Tools PCIe cards that fill the remaining slots in the Mac Pro. They work perfect under OS X but BSOD any 32 bit version of Windows. If anyone has a solution I would love to hear it because according the Intel there is no working solution.
     
  6. petemacpro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #6
    I have exactly the same problem..! any solution for that one?
     
  7. 65StangBoy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #7
    It's been like that since day one. I'm not sure about the new Mac Pro's but my old Mac Pro has always had those exclamation points. I just installed XP Pro x64 with the latest chipset drivers from Intel and it's still like that. I haven't tried using Vista x64 with the new Mac Pro x64 drivers though, maybe someone else can chime in. Luckily for me I don't need to use them.
     
  8. Maddler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #8
    Bump.

    *Does MacRumors: Forums not have a subscribe to thread button?*
     
  9. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #9
    Under Thread Tools...
     
  10. petemacpro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #10
    anyone with vista??
     
  11. flashgadget macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #11
    Hi Im new I'mjust wondering if any body has figured this out yet

    I have the older mac pro Running Protools HD3 on XP every time I put in the 3rd PCI card I also get the blue screen of death but 2 cards are fine
     

Share This Page