No phone number on ipad2!

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by hbmex, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. hbmex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    #1
    I just received my iPad 2 in the mail yesterday. I have an original iPad which I have given to my wife. I set up my new iPad from a backup from my original iPad and everything worked fine except 3G. I was unable to set up a 3G account with AT&T because there was no cell number assigned to my new iPad 2.

    I thought it was operator error so I restored the iPad 2 and set it up as a new iPad. Same problem. When I look under general settings>about>cellular number it says unknown. Is it possible Apple never assigned a cellular number to my new iPad 2? Anyone else have this problem? Called AT&T and they were no help. I have a genius bar appointment this afternoon, but would like to be able to fix this myself. Please help!
     
  2. Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #2
    I don't have a 3G but I doubt they come from Apple with a number assigned. You probably have to log-on to either ATT or Verizon and set up an account before you are assigned a number.
     
  3. hbmex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    #3
    I tried to set up an account when I first set up my ipad2, but it did not work because there was no cellular number assigned to my device. When I set up my original iPad there was already a cell number assigned to it. Now the field is just blank. In talking to personnel at Apple last night they told me each 3G capable iPad has a cell number assigned to it. This was confirmed by a representative from AT&T. For whatever reason, my iPad 2 does not have a cell number assigned to it. I hope this is just a glitch Apple is experiencing because they are shipping out the iPad 2 so rapidly.
     
  4. Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #4
    Please, let us know how this turns out after your appointment.
     
  5. hbmex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    #5
    Just got back from the Genius Bar. As I suspected, it was operator error.
     
  6. BobbieM629 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Location:
    Midwest
    #6
    Yeah they don't come from Apple with a cell number.. You have to set that up with AT&T or Verizon (whichever carrier is for your iPad).
     
  7. T0MMYBOY4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    #7
    What was the 'operator error' that you were doing wrong? I'm trying to do the same thing you were doing, and also getting "unknown" listed for the ipad phone number. Any insight would be appreciated!
     
  8. Aspasia macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    Halfway between the Equator and North Pole
    #8
    Since this thread is over two years old, not sure if the original OP is still around.

    However, as an iPad2 AT&T user, I can vouch there is no number assigned to the device. It's not a phone. Once I activated and paid for my cellular service, AT&T assigned a number - but I certainly never used it for any purpose.

    Since I only buy cellular when I need it, I let the service lapse. When I have to reactivate it and plug in my credit card info, etc., a different number is assigned.

    Not sure what Verizon or other carriers do, but that's how it works with AT&T on both the iPad 2 and the Mini.
     
  9. T0MMYBOY4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    #9
    Thanx for the info!
     

Share This Page