No Quad Core Sandy Bridge in new MBP's?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by USC_Gamecock, Feb 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #2
    Why wouldn't you just comment in that thread? :confused:
     
  2. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #3
    Might want to wait before getting into a tizzy. :rolleyes:
     
  3. USC_Gamecock thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    exit 3
    #4
    There are a ton of general threads, mine is specific ... unless there's a thread about quad processors that I missed.

    If we go by your theory, then everyone would just post in one long thread about Macbook Pro's and never start new threads.

    Thanks for the input.
     
  4. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #5
    Might want to wait before getting into a tizzy. :rolleyes:
     
  5. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #6
    There are quite a number of threads about quads in the new MBPs
     
  6. ktang macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    #7
    I was a little sad too after reading macrumors homepage. Even though the new sand bridge are faster, I still wish they will and hopefully offer a option to go quad cores.
     
  7. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #8
    There are at least 4 threads (8 if you include hyper threads).

    :cool:
     
  8. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #9
    Realistically though, no quad core CPU currently is gonna fit in the form factor that the MBP is. Have you seen some of the PC's that are quad core? They are pretty thick still...
     
  9. electronique macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #10
    Do you even need a Quad Core, OP? Most probably not.
    If you do. Buy a desktop.
     
  10. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #11
    Yeah, cooling would be an issue there with as thin as the MBP is. I don't imagine the chip itself is a whole lot bigger, but the extra heat could be a problem, as they already get very hot
     
  11. rmitchell248 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Location:
    Liebsthal, Germany
    #12
    good ?, maybe he didnt know there was a thread attached to it.
     
  12. idea_hamster macrumors 65816

    idea_hamster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, or thereabouts
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    It could just be a BTO option.
     
  13. Nein01 macrumors 6502

    Nein01

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #14
    Yep, I'm banking on quad core being a BTO in the 17"

    The real question is how much extra will that cost?
     
  14. Kalach macrumors member

    Kalach

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #15
    I was suprised about not hearing anything about quad, but it's still early. They might have it as an option on the 17 inch, here's hoping! :)
     
  15. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #16
    What makes you think Arn has any idea?

    Between the bottom 13", and the top BTO on the 17", there will be a lot more than 3 CPUs. I'd be very surprised if at least one quad didn't turn up. I wouldn't be super surprised if all the 15" and 17" came with quad CPUs. Although only time will tell how ambitious Apple is going to be.
     
  16. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #17
    The quad-core models will probably be pretty steep and pricey. We are talking ~$3000+ range.
     
  17. USC_Gamecock thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    exit 3
    #18
    Yes I do, and I don't like desktops.

    I will just be patient -- I was just so sure that this year we'd see a quad in the MBP's. Oh well ... hopefully it's a BTO option -- that would be a nice surprise!!!
     
  18. Alien987 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #19
    I want a $1199 MBP 13" with quad core processor, discrete Nvidia graphics card, lighter, thiner and with black liquid metal ;)

    But sadly technology still has limits and I agree that a Quad Core processor in a MBP probably would have heat management problems, so if they offer it even as a BTO option and you get it it's highly probable we'll see you around complaining of overheating or burned legs....
     
  19. USC_Gamecock thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    exit 3
    #20
    I don't come on here for pissing matches, so you can just stop with the insults.

    I was just wondering if anyone heard if this was true, or if there's a good reason for any of it. I've owned Mac laptops since 2004, and I am well versed in the company's products. No need for comments like the one in your second paragraph.
     
  20. syan48306 macrumors 6502a

    syan48306

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #21
    I'd hazard a guess you can probably pick one up with a BTO MBP 15 or 17. It'll cost ya though.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page