No Safari after Semi-Tether

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by toasty hoodie, Mar 18, 2012.

  1. toasty hoodie macrumors 6502

    toasty hoodie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #1
    Hey, I updated my IP4 to 5.1 and did the tethered jailbreak. After installing semi-tether, I no longer have Safari, as it crashes.

    Any ideas why and how to fix this?
     
  2. heyyitzmelissa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #2
    Turn it on in semi tether settings? And you still haven't boot tethered
     
  3. toasty hoodie thread starter macrumors 6502

    toasty hoodie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #3
    It is on, and I booted tethered obviously. I may restore from backup and rejailbreak.
     
  4. dhlizard, Mar 18, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2012

    dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    Unless semi-tether was just updated, BigBoss semi-tether is not for use with 5.1
     
  5. heyyitzmelissa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #5
    That's not obvious, at all. You could have been in semi tethered or boot tether mode.
     
  6. toasty hoodie thread starter macrumors 6502

    toasty hoodie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #6
    Well, I know that I used the "Just Boot" option in redsn0w when I restarted the phone. So I'm pretty sure I was in tethered mode.

    However, I ended up restoring again, this time from scratch, and re-jailbroke and I'm just fine.

    Thanks for the assistance.
     
  7. Imaweiner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #7
    Semi tether

    I am pretty sure when you boot on the road with a semi-tether mobile safari will not work.
     
  8. Xenomorph macrumors 65816

    Xenomorph

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    St. Louis
    #8
    On 5.0.1, with Semitether, there is still an additional step:

    Load the Semitether app, and enable "Patch Safari". It un-sandboxes it, allowing it to run if you have to reboot for any reason.

    I have no idea if it works on 5.1.
     

Share This Page