No Service in Europe

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Ray Brady, Jan 9, 2017.

  1. Ray Brady macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #1
    Hello all. My wife and I are US-based AT&T users. I have an iPhone SE, and my wife has a 5S. At least once a year we travel to Europe, and have never had any problem using our phones during these trips.

    On our most recent trip we visited London, Germany and Austria, but no matter where we went, both phones read "No Service" at all times. I tried rebooting several times, turning Cellular Data on and off, going in and out of Airplane mode, but at no time was I ever able to get a carrier icon to appear on either phone.

    I checked with AT&T to see if there had been any changes to my account that would prevent voice roaming, but they said they couldn't see anything that should be affecting my ability to make calls. So I figured I would turn to you clever people.

    Does anyone have any idea what might be causing this perpetual No Service notice? Ideally, we want to leave Data Roaming off, but still allow for the possibility of receiving calls from home. Any thoughts on what we might have been doing wrong?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. jetsam macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    #2
    For both phones to have been unable to roam in three European countries, I strongly suspect a provisioning problem on AT&T's end. When you spoke to AT&T, did you speak directly to their International Customer Service group, or just general AT&T Customer Service?

    Do you have On-Line Account Management set up for your AT&T account? If so, you should confirm that International Roaming is enabled.

    Login, and drill down from the myAT&T tab to Wireless>View International Options
    Then, click on
    "Want to change your coverage or see all international options?"
    You'll see each of your phones. Pick one, and click on it.
    if your account is provisioned for use outside the US, each phone should say
    "
    Travel outside the U.S.
    Travel at Pay-per-use rate
    "
     
  3. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
  4. Ray Brady thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #4
    Yes. I tried it both data roaming on and off, but nothing seemed to make a difference.
     
  5. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    Then at&t haven't enabled roaming on your account. It's not an issue with your iPhone mate
     
  6. daflake macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #6
    jetsam was probably correct on this one. If you didn't get the international plan, then they aren't provisioned for international use. I work in Germany and have seen this a few times with new folks coming over.
     
  7. Ray Brady thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #7
    That's what I suspected. I contacted AT&T to ask them just this question, but they insisted both phones should work just fine.

    I'm convinced you're right, and that AT&T is the problem. Now I need to see if I can figure out a way to prove it.

    Thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page