no SIM - can I update?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by patent10021, Feb 26, 2014.

  1. patent10021 macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #1
    Stupidly threw away my SIM because I cancelled my contract. Didin't know it would affect activation. I'm not going to get a cheap SIM because my Japanese phone can't be unlocked (cheaply).

    Anyway, can I at least update?


    p.s. what about a Canadian SIM with Gevey SIM unlock? Still need my Japanese SIM?
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    You can't do anything without one....grab the cheapest pay as you go sim you can find and use it to activate the phone....Things work differently here in the UK and our phones are not normally locked unless you purchase from a carrier.

    I buy my phones direct from Apple...If I want to change carriers I simply change sims.
     
  3. johnjim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    #3
    Apple phone is not sim card is not activated.
     
  4. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
  5. Macman45 macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    Nope. No sim, no activation...I don't know about the whole jail breaking scene as intend to steer clear leaving my devices as Apple intended, but you might find somebody in the jail breaking section who knows more.
     
  6. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #6
    You cannot restore and activate your phone without a sim card but you can update. Under Itunes make sure you select update and the phone if already activated does not need to activate again.

    I did this myself yesterday with my old 4S with no sim card in it.
     
  7. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    So, a 'restore' will cause the phone to go through an activation, but an 'update' will bypass this activation screen?

    I'm asking because I've had issues with all of my iPhone 5s' and every time I've tried a restore it says 'SIM not valid' even though it is. Any help would be great because I'd love to update to 7.0.6 without another trip to the Apple Store.
     
  8. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #8
    This is what I have understood to be the case all along but came here to verify. I'm pretty sure that all the above posts besides #6 are misinformation.
     
  9. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #9
    That's good to know. I'll probably still wait until Saturday (when I'd have time to go), but feel better about updating. I'll report back.
     
  10. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #10
    yes, let us know. thanks
     
  11. aDRock1154, Mar 1, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2014

    aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #11
    Well, I decided to update through iTunes and it worked! Although, I left the SIM card in. I'll probably stay away from OTA for a while...

    I should add, there was no activation screen, so the theory is correct.
     
  12. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #12
    UPDATE: I tried updating to 7.1 last night and it threw up the 'SIM not valid' after the phone updated/restarted. I'll be getting my 5th replacement iPhone 5s today.

    I've tried a duplicate thread, but a mod took it down. I literally have no answers anywhere and was hoping someone here could help. Apple and Verizon have never seen this before...
     

Share This Page