"No SIM card installed"

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by That-Is-Bull, Aug 28, 2008.

  1. That-Is-Bull macrumors 6502

    That-Is-Bull

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    #1
    I unlocked my iPhone today and got a popup saying "No SIM card installed," and "AT&T" was replaced with "No SIM" in the top left. I couldn't call people or anything. I turned my iPhone off and on and that fixed it for a few hours, but then it did the same thing again. Restarted it again, fixed for a few hours, messed up again.

    I'm using a last-gen iPhone with 2.0.2, which wasn't jailbroken today when the problem started but I just pwned it an hour ago. The third time the message popped up was about 15 minutes after it was pwned.
     
  2. StoneColdSober macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #2
    Confused...did the problem start before or after you unlocked it?

    If before, maybe a bad sim, go to AT&T and they will give you a new one. If after, I would search in the hack forum for help as I have seen posts on this issue before.
     
  3. That-Is-Bull thread starter macrumors 6502

    That-Is-Bull

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    #3
    The first two times were before I jailbroke it.

    Maybe, but when I restart the phone it works fine for a few hours and I can call people and everything.
     
  4. StoneColdSober macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #4
    Still confused because it seems you are using jailbreak and unlock interchangeably. One can jailbreak without unlocking but one cannot unlock without jailbreaking.

    If the problem started before you did a jailbreak and/or unlock then go to AT&T and get a new sim card. They don't charge for them, especially if you are having a problem.
     
  5. That-Is-Bull thread starter macrumors 6502

    That-Is-Bull

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    #5
    I haven't used the word "unlock" anywhere. The "No SIM" thing happened twice today before I did anything to the iPhone, then I used PwnageTool to jailbreak it, then it happened again. I'm just saying that my phone is currently jailbroken, but jailbreaking isn't what caused the problem.
     
  6. StoneColdSober macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #6
    Actually the second word of your original post as noted above was "unlocked." I'm not trying to argue with you here, just trying to be helpful. I now understand that you did not unlock but rather did a jailbreak.

    Given that and that you are saying these problems occurred prior to jailbreaking, my prior advice stands. Go to AT&T and get a new sim card. Sim cards go bad all the time. This may not fix the problem but having had this very thing happen on more than one phone, this has been the fix for me each time.

    Hope that helps.
     
  7. That-Is-Bull thread starter macrumors 6502

    That-Is-Bull

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    #7
    Oh. My bad, I meant unlock as in "slide to unlock." Surprised I missed that >.>

    Guess I'll try that then. You sure I'd be able to make calls and everything for a few hours after I restart my phone if the SIM card is bad though?
     
  8. StoneColdSober macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #8
    I can say that I have had it happen with prior phones, not iPhones but that is irrelevant.

    I make this recommendation because it is the easiest thing for you to check first. When troubleshooting these types of issues I always try the easy fix first. In this instance that is a bad sim card as the problem began before you did a jailbreak. Given the symptoms you have described my troubleshooting steps would be as follows:

    1. Do a hard reset (I think you have done this but may be wrong)
    2. Replace the sim card
    3. Do a full restore
    4. Setup the iPhone as new
    5. Setup appointment with genius

    Numbers 3 and 4 are more time consuming, if you have time, you can try them first. And before doing number 5, you will want to restore to official firmware thus requiring number 3 or number 4.

    Hope that helps.
     
  9. shevi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #9
    I had this issue with my first (non-jailbroken) 3G. It turns out that the slot for the SIM card was slightly too big, so it would sometimes slip out of place (although you couldn't see that from the outside). A temporary fix is to shake the phone (hoping to get the card to slide back into place) and then to reset your network settings (which makes it re-look for the sim card). I did get a new phone once they saw the issue (when you held my phone up next to the sample one, you could see that the slot was slightly bigger). No SIM-related problems with my current phone.
     
  10. ARK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #10
    I had the same problem. It was a bad SIM card. Just go to AT&T first and don't mess with doing a reset, etc. Just get the SIM replaced.
     

Share This Page