No sim card issue!!!!

Discussion in 'iPad' started by cd1k, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. cd1k macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Boston Ma USA
    #1
    Everyonce in a while my iPad with pop up a menu and say no sim card installed. It's in there. I have to go to settings and turn off and then turn on 3G data. Anyone else having this problem???
     
  2. Czicks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #2
    I'd guess either your SIM card is losing contact or is defective.

    I'd try removing and reinserting the SIM. If that doesn't resolve the issue, talk with your provider to get a replacement.

    Of course it could be the iPad itself is damaged, but troubleshooting the SIM 1st is easier than replacing the iPad.
     
  3. Scott-n-Houston macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Houston (duh)
    #3
    I have this issue now and then. I notice it most when my iPad is in landscape mode and the side that the SIM is on points towards the floor.

    I usually just eject it and pop it back in and it doesn't do it again for a while.

    It's irritating, but it's not a big enough deal to me to chase after a solution (yet).
     
  4. shakenmartini macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    #4
    Just take it back to apple and get a new one. There have been a few cases of bad SIM slots in the new microSIM iDevices.

    Tell the genius what is up and you'll probably get a new one.
     
  5. 0101001 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
  6. Scott-n-Houston macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Houston (duh)
    #6
    Actually, you'll probably get a refurb... not a new one. Just clarifying.
     
  7. cd1k thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Boston Ma USA
    #7
    i just have been dealing with it...
    and Scott-n-Houston. i just goto setting and turn on and off airplane mode... and it works fine.... so far this is my only complaint with the ipad.... other than no 4.0 os yet... but thats soon...
     
  8. Scott-n-Houston macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Houston (duh)
    #8
    Ah. Thanks for the tip! I can't believe I haven't tried that yet.
     
  9. Gvillechris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    #9
    Sim failure

    My sim card crapped out totally...registered no service whe I knew I was in range. Luckily I was in town and close to an Apple store. They popped in a brandy new sim card and I'm good to go. Biggest irritation is that I wanted the 3G while on vacation in Maine and could find NO SERVICE in the WHOLE STATE which is ridiculous but it was probably just the little card in pre-total-failure mode. I paid 15 bucks largely to get service while away and got zip...nothing. Watch this issue...sim card failure should be discussed.
     
  10. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #10
    Did you check the coverage map? Because, I'm not seeing (much) 3G in Maine... In fact, it looks like most of the coverage isn't even AT&T!

    http://www.wireless.att.com/coverag...at=42.7129359375&lon=-72.65181562499998&sci=3

    No clue if that link will work. With all that edge, you might as well have had no coverage because the iPad bites on edge!
     

Share This Page