No SIM detected

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by fireshot91, Dec 22, 2009.

  1. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #1
    So, this has happened fairly often enough for me to know there's a problem.

    I was just texting yesterday, and all of a sudden I get no service, and it doesn't show the AT&T "sign", and then I get a pop-up saying "No SIM Detected". A simple restart fixes it.

    This also happened the day before. It happens, whenever it does occur, about once a day. And always a simple restart fixes it. This happened about 4-5 times so far. I told one of my friends who has the First Gen, and she had it happen once to her also (After I told her the first time).


    I have a 3GS running 3.1.2 on AT&T. ...Now that I think about it, could it be a tower problem, since it always happens either at my house or at school (Which is a 8-10 minute walk, so I'm sure it's in the same tower?)
     
  2. fireshot91 thread starter macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #2
    Okay, it just did it again right now. :confused:.

    Happening to anybody else?
     
  3. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #3
    Have you taken the card out, wiped it off, and shot some compressed air in the slot?

    It might have some dust or something getting between the connection points.

    EDIT: And I live remarkably close to you - zip code 22153 - and I've never seen that happen so I don't think the towers are to blame.
     
  4. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #4
    I had that happen in DC area. It was a cell tower obviously, since I didn't take out or clean the sim. After a day it never happened again.
     
  5. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #5
    I don't understand that because I've been in places with NO cell service and the phone can talk to the SIM card just fine. So what could a tower be doing to disrupt the connection?

    I lose signal often enough, but it never tells me the SIM card is missing except for when I actually remove it from the phone.
     
  6. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #6

    A cell tower cannot be responsible for your phone physically losing electrical contact with your SIM. It's not a tower problem.

    To the OP: If it happens again, go to an AT&T store and get the SIM replaced.
     
  7. fireshot91 thread starter macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
  8. xanatos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #8
    Simpliedt solution
    go to AT&T store and have them give you a new sim. For free

    happened to me couple of months ago. Did a restore and all that crap. AT&T reps didn't know why of course. Told em swap out my sim and it was good as new
     
  9. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #9
    Had this happen on other phones with ATT. Its a problem with the SIM card. Just go to ATT and get it replaced for free.
     
  10. fireshot91 thread starter macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #10
    It happened again today, and I didn't notice it until somebody called me a couple of times and it went straight to voicemail. They knew I was with my mom, so they called her right after, and told me. So I checked my phone, and, yupp, No SIM installed/detected.

    This time, a restart didn't fix it. I had to physically take out the SIM card and put it back...

    You think AT&T will ship me one, I mean it's only a SIM card....
     
  11. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #11
    No, you'll need to go to the AT&T store.
     
  12. fireshot91 thread starter macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #12
    Clearly, it was worth a try.

    They're sending me a SIM card. I didn't even call them, I used the Live chat option on wireless.att.com.
     
  13. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #13
    Wow, I'm surprised they would do that without seeing the phone first.
     
  14. fireshot91 thread starter macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #14
    I had doubts, but if it took all but 10 minutes of my time, and it worked out, it was worth it.
     

Share This Page