No SIM in iPad

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by Killerbob, Nov 17, 2014.

  1. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #1
    After upgrading to IOS8 I constantly get the message that there is no SIM in my iPad Mini. I know there is no SIM in it, and I have switched it to Airplane amode, and then turned on the WiFi separately, so it is annoying...

    What's going om? I am pretty sure that this didn't happen with IOS7, and it is not happening on my iPad.
     
  2. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
  3. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #3
    Because I have no reason to pay for a subscription when I use it at home and at work all the time. I live in Greenland and data over 3G/LTE is terribly expensive, as in like USD 0.05/MB...
     
  4. dcharleyultra macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
  5. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #5
    The SIM inside the ipad doesn't have to be active on a data subscription.

    I don't know about Greenland, but in the US you can put a prepaid data SIM in the ipad and simply not buy prepaid date unless/until you need it. Turn off Cellular Data in Settings and it won't even try to use it.
     
  6. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #6
    This is true, however, constantly getting a "No SIM card installed" dialog that interrupts you even when cellular data is turned off is a bug and should be fixed. Why is the cellular chipset even being activated when it's switched off?

    Submit it to Apple Feedback so they at least know about it. Until then, though, take *any* SIM, even a deactivated one, and pop it into the iPad and the problem should go away.
     
  7. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #7
    I completely agree with zorinlynx. Why the message is there even when I am in Airplane mode is simply beyond me. That is the definition of a bug... which has now been submitted to Apple:)
     
  8. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #8
    Agreed. I didn't intend to suggest otherwise.


    ... and that was more my point. There's really no reason to have to keep the ipad in airplane mode when it will work perfectly fine with an un-activated SIM card.
     
  9. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #9
    If you don't intend to use it on a cellular service, why did you get the one with 3G then?

    It is not a bug and the mobile device, being mobile capable, expects a SIM card.
     

Share This Page