No sleep settings? Haswell 2013 iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by insimbi, Sep 29, 2013.

  1. insimbi macrumors 6502

    insimbi

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #1
    My Energy Saver settings seems to be missing some things? This is the screen that comes up when I click Energy Saver in System Prefs. Where are the sleep settings?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #2
    I'm just guessing, like 2013 MBAs, they've removed seperate timers for disk sleep and display sleep from system preferences in the new Haswell iMacs.
     
  3. insimbi thread starter macrumors 6502

    insimbi

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #3
    Oh, I wasn't aware that's how the 2013 MBA's were. So if it says "Turn display off after" and it's set for 10 mins, it actually will be sleeping at the same time?
     
  4. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #4
    I think if nothing's set a power assertion preventing disk sleep, then yes.
     
  5. bp1000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #5
    The Haswell chips have native support for low power idle

    I think apple combined the display timeout with the haswell low power state management.

    It is just so quick at waking up you dont think its actually been sleeping. It is also worth mentioning that while the display timeout allows the cpu to enter a low power state, if a task is running it wont cut it off. It will go into standby after a certain period of inactivity, that might be 3 hours like the laptops.
     
  6. bluescale macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #6
    Is that the Power Nap functionality you're describing? Unless Apple just hasn't update the document for it, the Haswell iMacs don't support it:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht5394
     
  7. stiffy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    #7
    edit "/S/L/E/IOPlatformPluginFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/X86PlatformPlugin.kext/Contents/Resources/Your-Mac-Model.plist

    find:
    <key>UnifiedSleepSliderPref</key>
    <true/>

    replace:
    <key>UnifiedSleepSliderPref</key>
    <false/>

    rebuild kext cache and reboot.
     
  8. jmille44 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    #8
    How do you find out your what your Your-Mac-Model.plist is?
    All I see in there is a bunch of numbers.plist in a list and can not
    identify which would be fore the New Mac Pro?

    Thanks
     
  9. MartinAppleGuy macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #9
    This is normal on all 2013 iMacs. Mine has it like yours too.
     
  10. stiffy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    #10
    Mac-F60DEB81FF30ACF6.plist
     

Share This Page