Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Nidron

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2010
12
1
Stockholm
Hey all El Capitan users,
I'm suddenly finding more than a few of my older apps unable to install,
I get the error "installer could not install the software because there was no software found to install".
This occurs mostly with my VSTs, and an older installation of Guitar Pro.

These are as i said, older installers, but I ran all of these on Yosemite a couple of months back with no problems.
I've tried redownloading a couple of the installers but that didn't solve the problem,
and I doubt that ten installers suddenly have become corrupted.

Has anyone else experienced this problem?

Best regards
 

Shirasaki

macrumors G5
May 16, 2015
13,856
8,315
Hey all El Capitan users,
I'm suddenly finding more than a few of my older apps unable to install,
I get the error "installer could not install the software because there was no software found to install".
This occurs mostly with my VSTs, and an older installation of Guitar Pro.

These are as i said, older installers, but I ran all of these on Yosemite a couple of months back with no problems.
I've tried redownloading a couple of the installers but that didn't solve the problem,
and I doubt that ten installers suddenly have become corrupted.

Has anyone else experienced this problem?

Best regards
You could try disabling rootless before installing your corrupted software. This would happen if software requires some package available only at key system folders.
 

Nidron

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2010
12
1
Stockholm
Thanks, that's a good idea, but I just can't seem to disable rootless. Using sudo nvram boot-args="rootless=0";sudo reboot doesn't work, it's still turned on after reboot, and I can't find another way to do it.
 

Nidron

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2010
12
1
Stockholm
You could try disabling rootless before installing your corrupted software. This would happen if software requires some package available only at key system folders.

Thanks, that's a good idea, but I just can't seem to disable rootless. Using sudo nvram boot-args="rootless=0";sudo reboot doesn't work, it's still turned on after reboot, and I can't find another way to do it.
 

Shirasaki

macrumors G5
May 16, 2015
13,856
8,315
Thanks, that's a good idea, but I just can't seem to disable rootless. Using sudo nvram boot-args="rootless=0";sudo reboot doesn't work, it's still turned on after reboot, and I can't find another way to do it.
You need to reboot to recovery partition to disable rootless. Sudo command may be disabled. In case you don't know how to reboot to recovery partition, you need to first power up or restart your mac, and immediately press command + R key on keyboard.
Then you should be able to get into recovery partition. You should select utility menu, which you could use terminal to do something more advanced. But the purpose this time is to bring out SIP menu, and you need to click it, and clear the check box of "enabling system integrated protection".
Once this is done, restart normally, and try installing software again.
 

Nidron

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2010
12
1
Stockholm
You need to reboot to recovery partition to disable rootless. Sudo command may be disabled. In case you don't know how to reboot to recovery partition, you need to first power up or restart your mac, and immediately press command + R key on keyboard.
Then you should be able to get into recovery partition. You should select utility menu, which you could use terminal to do something more advanced. But the purpose this time is to bring out SIP menu, and you need to click it, and clear the check box of "enabling system integrated protection".
Once this is done, restart normally, and try installing software again.

I've done as you said - but in Disk Utility it still says Rootless activated - On.
Checked SIP menu again - box still unchecked.
Installation still fails.
This is weird, maybe I should make a new post about this..
 

Shirasaki

macrumors G5
May 16, 2015
13,856
8,315
I've done as you said - but in Disk Utility it still says Rootless activated - On.
Checked SIP menu again - box still unchecked.
Installation still fails.
This is weird, maybe I should make a new post about this..
Umm, I am in fact a newbie of OS X. I can disable rootless using this way and install paragon ntfs driver successfully.
Have you tried doing so again? Although I think nothing would change. :(
 

Nidron

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2010
12
1
Stockholm
Umm, I am in fact a newbie of OS X. I can disable rootless using this way and install paragon ntfs driver successfully.
Have you tried doing so again? Although I think nothing would change. :(

Yeah, I've tried a couple of times! I think the installation issues are due to Rootless, so I just need to find out why I can't disable it.. Thanks for the help anyway!
 

ssn637

macrumors 6502
Feb 12, 2009
443
47
Switzerland
I ran into the same problem when trying to install a Gutenprint printer driver package for my Canon BJC-55 printer.

But you can also install the package contents manually using Pacifist, which also verifies that all files have been correctly copied to their destination folders.

Strangely enough, I also tried to install JRE 1.6 this way as well, but Britannica's Ultimate Reference Suite refused to start. So I manually copied over the installation files after having extracted them to a local folder using the Pacifist utility and was good to go.

Hope this helps

Cheers
 

gkinal

macrumors newbie
Feb 15, 2008
3
0
Hey all El Capitan users,
I'm suddenly finding more than a few of my older apps unable to install,
I get the error "installer could not install the software because there was no software found to install".
This occurs mostly with my VSTs, and an older installation of Guitar Pro.

These are as i said, older installers, but I ran all of these on Yosemite a couple of months back with no problems.
I've tried redownloading a couple of the installers but that didn't solve the problem,
and I doubt that ten installers suddenly have become corrupted.

Has anyone else experienced this problem?

Best regards
 

gkinal

macrumors newbie
Feb 15, 2008
3
0
I struggled for three days to install Gutenprint on El Capitan. I got the same "no software to be installed" messages, or the installer would report that only 3K needed to be written (from a 12MB dmg file ....). Building Gutenprint from source initially did not work either. I had to reinstall the updated Xcode and its parts from Apple developer site; apparently things like the compiler needed to be made compatible. Even then, the installation script initially reported that the compiler could not create executables. Finally everything came together. I suspect the installer(s) also need to be updated/ made compatible with any new release.
 

Nidron

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2010
12
1
Stockholm
Hi Nidron

Did you find any solution for this?

Hi, no, I ended up reverting to Yosemite and reinstalling all my old apps.
Now I have the GM, but I installed it on top of all the old stuff from Yosemite,
so I haven't had to try installing any old apps yet.
 

Giancola

macrumors newbie
Jan 6, 2016
1
0
Hey guys
I find this extremely annoying and it is unbelievable that Apple does not address it.

Does anyone found a solution to this?

Thanks!
G.
 

kelvo

macrumors newbie
Jan 8, 2016
2
0
Hi

I also have this issue with my ProLink network USB, which was working perfectly before. I have been waiting to see if they release any updated for the issue via ProLink or Apple, but no luck there. I would rather not have to revert my Laptop to the previous version as i use it a lot for my job and doing so would take a chunk of time.

Any hep anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
 

khinelay

macrumors newbie
Jan 22, 2014
2
0
Hello Kelvo,
I've got a problem with ProLink network USB. my connection is up and then 0.00. So, I uninstall the application and try to install again. Then, I've got an error.. no software to install.
 

kelvo

macrumors newbie
Jan 8, 2016
2
0
Hello Kelvo,
I've got a problem with ProLink network USB. my connection is up and then 0.00. So, I uninstall the application and try to install again. Then, I've got an error.. no software to install.

Hey Khinely

I got mine sorted, after trying to get help from the provider (etisalat are useless) I emailed proline directly. They are aware of it and replied to my email with a patch. I apply the patch at installation and it works perfectly. Even works with the original interface again. Maybe give this a go? Hope it helps
 

rayehe

macrumors newbie
Jul 24, 2016
1
0
Hi Nidron
I saw this error too , but I download the file again , and the problem solved. because It didn't completely download...I suggest you , to check the size of original file which is noted to the site , and the file that you downloaded it :D
best regards
rayehe :)
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.