No Software Updates?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by TheStu, Nov 16, 2007.

  1. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #1
    iPhoto has an update, but everytime I run Software Update, it says that I have no updates. It also doesn't have the 10.5.1 update listed... WTF?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Are you able to install them manually from the Apple site?
     
  3. NAG macrumors 68030

    NAG

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    /usr/local/apps/nag
    #3
    This update is for iPhoto 7 (iLife '08 only). You have that installed?
     
  4. TheStu thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #4
    I was able to get 10.5.1 from Apple's site directly, but even after that there is still no iphoto update, and I do have iphoto 08 (just double-checked).

    Weird, huh?
     
  5. John01021988 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    #5
    check what version of iPhoto are you using, maybe it updated itself and u did not even noticed about the update (iPhoto, About iPhoto)
     
  6. theman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #6
    yeah, it's possible it updated once when you started iphoto. However it's strange you didn't get 10.5.1. How long did you wait?
     
  7. NAG macrumors 68030

    NAG

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    /usr/local/apps/nag
    #7
    Yeah this sounds weird if you're not getting any updates at all. Maybe something is wrong with your receipts. I guess you could try repairing permissions for kicks to see if that fixes it.
     
  8. TheStu thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #8
    Ok, to cover everything :)

    iPhoto should be version 7.1.1, but mine is currently at 7.1 If I start iPhoto, it tells me that I have an update available, but it ends up launching Software Update which then tells me that I have no updates available.

    I finally updated to 10.5.1 last night by downloading the update from Apple's site directly. Still Software Update does not work... I am trying repairing permissions, will report back when I know more.
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
  10. theman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #10
    And lastly.... call Apple! I bet they know how to fix it... even if you have to wait on hold multiple times for about 2 hours!
     
  11. TheStu thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #11
    OK, here is what I have to report.

    Repairing File Permissions did nothing.
    Dragging the com.apple.SoftwareUpdate.plist file did nothing, neither did deleting it.
    I was at an Apple store just a few hours ago and brought this up with them. Erase and Install was the answer (which I am reticent to do since this is not a system crippling thing, just an annoyance)

    I appreciate all the ideas, if any of you have more, keep em coming!
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    Have you tried a different network? Have you tried a fresh user account? I completely agree that a fresh reinstall is total overkill. :)
     
  13. TheStu thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #13
    I have not tried a fresh user account, but it does not work at my friend's apartment which is about as different a network as I can make it.

    Here is a Netgear SuperG wireless router attached to a DSL Modem
    There is a DLink G wireless router attached to a Cable Modem
     
  14. TheStu thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #14
    I have not tried a fresh user account, but it does not work at my friend's apartment which is about as different a network as I can make it.

    Here is a Netgear SuperG wireless router attached to a DSL Modem
    There is a DLink G wireless router attached to a Cable Modem

    Switching to another User did the trick. ANd I think I figured out the culprit.

    I had installed the LittleSnitch 2 Beta. I thought I had uninstalled it (used their uninstaller) but no. When I went into the newly created user account, LittleSnitch came up.
     
  15. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  16. TheStu thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #16
    I really have no idea to be honest. There are no updates available right now, so I have to wait until any others come along.

    That being said, the LittleSnitch Configurator is still sitting in my Applications folder (this is after trying to uninstall it TWICE!!!) God, I hate programs that will not get rid of themselves. The terrible thing is that I am actually, honest to god, considering doing a clean install of Leopard in order to take care of this LittleSnitch issue.
     
  17. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #17
    Did you read their FAQ as to how best to uninstall it?
     
  18. Quillz macrumors 65816

    Quillz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #18
    And what's the problem with that? A lot of people like doing clean installs everytime a new OS is released. Leopard is far from perfect, and doing a clean install may fix some of the issues you seem to be having with it.
     

Share This Page