No sound device on MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by NazzibsamaD, Jul 21, 2014.

  1. NazzibsamaD macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #1
    Hi all,

    This is my first time posting here, hope someone can help..thanks..

    I do not have any audio output on my Macbook Pro when running on mac os. However, there is still the start up chime sound. It shows a stop sign when I tried to increase or decrease the volume. Sound panel shows 'no audio output'. No red led light from the headphone jack as well.

    My MacBook Pro details are as follow:
    Mac OS X Version 10.7.5
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    Have you tried Restarting?

    Is there a red light coming out of your headphone jack?

    Do you have sound when booting into Safe Mode (Holding Shift)?
     
  3. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  4. NazzibsamaD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #4

    I've tried restarting a few times already.
    No red light on headphone jack
    I've even tried resetting NVRAM

    Still the same... What should I do?

    ----------

    It's not red light issue.
    It happened before but solved by resetting NVRAM. But this case, I reset NVRAM but still can't solve the prob.
     
  5. NazzibsamaD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #5

    Currently...
    My MacBook Pro detected the sound. All I did was...

    shut down
    switch on to safe mode
    shut down
    switch on resetting NVRAM (pressing Option, Command, P and R while switch on)

    then the volume and sound control has been detected and working as usual...

    Thx...
     
  6. NocturnalJazz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    #6
    Do you have "Boom" installed on this machine?
     
  7. NazzibsamaD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #7
    Nope.
     

Share This Page