No sound from Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by toples50, Jan 20, 2016.

  1. toples50 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    #1
    I purchased this(http://www.ebay.de/itm/APPLE-MAC-PR...lMQBCq%2FnSIWNxnMXSis%3D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc) Mac Pro from ebay but I have serious problem with the sound.Boots normally and has sound but then nothing.In system preferences the only options I get are Headphones,Line Out and Digital Out.Also when I try headphones nothing happens.Another problem is the digital optical output seems stack with a red light always on.What can I do because I tried so many solutions without any luck...
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Did you try to perform a clean install of the OS?
     
  3. toples50 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
  4. iciconnect, Jan 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2016

    iciconnect macrumors newbie

    iciconnect

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    #4
    If you have the OS it came with try reinstalling it without the extra PCIE cards. With the exception of the graphics card. Judging from the link you've included, the Mac looks as if it's previous owner was in broadcasting or had the Mac used for video production or surveillance. They may had installed software that changed the default setting. By reinstalling the OS this should solve the problem. By the way, that's one expensive card they left behind, if you still have it installed of course! :)
     
  5. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #5
    That's strange as you should also be seeing the BlackMagic card appear in the audio outputs.
    Reseat the BlackMagic card in the PCI slot, download and install the BlackMagic driver from their website and see if that helps. Also have a look into the Audio MIDI Configuration application in your utilities folder, maybe they set up a custom audio output config that might not work in your setup.
     
  6. iciconnect macrumors newbie

    iciconnect

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    #6
  7. JimmyPainter macrumors member

    JimmyPainter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    #7
    I had to perform a wipe/format of my drive and install the OS from scratch to fix mine. I installed about 3 times onto the same all ready loaded drive thinking it would replace/repair the broken files. Actually installed on another Drive that was freshly reformatted to insure BAD sectors would not be used. Anyway .... Low and behold ... Fresh install on Fresh Drive and I am Jammin once more.

    O .. then O so carefully migrate ONLY the Apps that are not so easily re-loaded but be prepared. Bring them one by one to so that if it explodemizes .. you know what's doing it.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 20, 2016 ---


    Like I said in other POST .... Do NOT re-install over the top of current OS. Start with Cleanly wiped drive. If the machine has software you don't have and don't want to loose ... Add a Cheap NEW Drive.
     
  8. toples50 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    #8
    Also I don't have sound from the headphones outputs.(front one does not work.In fact does not fit the jack...).The only sound I've heard from the machine is the startup chime.Tomorrow I will try to install drivers for the black magic card...
     
  9. toples50 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    #9
    I have removed the card(Blackmagic) but nothing again.When I run the Audio Midi Setup(in Utilities folder) as Built-in source has headphones.I will post a pic from Audio Midi setup if it is help.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. toples50 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    #10
    It seems in front audio jack that has a broken piece of Also it does not work the back headphone output.
     

Share This Page