No sound from MBA internal speakers

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by RickCowan, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. RickCowan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    #1
    For reasons unknown the internal sound option has disappeared from my MBA. The little speaker icon on the menu bar is grayed out and nothing comes from the jack. Internal speakers don't even show up as an option under sound output. I do use an Airport Express for external speakers but it's been playing happily with the internal speakers for months.
    Searching various forums, I've learned of these fixes:
    1) jiggle your headphone plug in and out while playing a song on iTunes
    2) reset your PRAM...
    Tried both & neither worked.
    Help!
     
  2. OrfordRobert macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    #2
    Easy and cheap hardware fix

    I had this about a year back, and did much research on the Apple support forums. As postings there suggested, and a visit to the Genius Bar confirmed, this was a hardware problem, for me: apparently there is a wire under the front r.h. corner of the case (to the side of the trackpad) that can become broken / detached. For around $20 the Genius Bar replaced mine and its worked well since.
     
  3. RickCowan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    #3
    Thanks, Robert.

    My Mac dealer reached the same conclusion. But replacing the audio cable didn't work so now we're onto a new audio card...which I didn't even know Macs had! Fingers crossed that this fixes it.
     
  4. ghileman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #4
    What was the outcome here? I just experienced this problem.

    Luckily still under AppleCare and heading to the Genius bar tomorrow.
     
  5. RickCowan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    #5
    No sound from MBA speakers, cont.

    It was a diagnostic adventure. After various guesses by the service dept, turned out to be a hardware issue. The sound chip (I thought Macs didn't have those) had to be replaced.
     
  6. ghileman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #6
    thanks for the headsup.

    i just tried resetting my pram and that did nothing.
     
  7. ghileman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #7
    and sound is back

    system profiler was showing me "Sound ID = 0", but after removing startupsound suppressing software and shutting down (rather than just restarting) i've got sound.
     
  8. ghileman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #8
    and now it's gone again

    lasted all of a song and a half, although the sound icon isn't greyed out like it was before.

    looks like i'll be keeping that genius bar appointment in an hour afterall.
     
  9. ghileman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #9
    the Covent Garden Apple Store in London rocks!

    new logic board on its way Tuesday along with some new batteries as well.

    had the entire display replaced a few months ago due to a faulty hinge, so feel like i'll practically have a brand new Rev B Air!
     
  10. gelinasbrian macrumors member

    gelinasbrian

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #10
    I had the same issue with my Macbook. After using non Apple brand headphones the red optical light would remain on inside of the jack thus no sound from internal speakers. Apple support had no solution for me so I poked around in the jack carefully with a toothpick. There appears to be a switch in there that became stuck. I have since unstuck that switch and no longer use any non Apple headphones, which sucks but is better than having it not work at all I guess. I think that there may be a small difference in size or shape of Apple's 3.5 mm when compared to other brands??? Apple headphones have three bands of plastic around the jack and non apple one only have two. This maybe the cause.
     
  11. ghileman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #11
    just to close the loop on this issue (hopefully), it turns out i didn't need a full new logic board, just a sound cable.
     

Share This Page