No sound in counter strike source with crossover

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by jonathan92, Jul 2, 2008.

  1. jonathan92 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Location:
    los angeles
    #1
    ok so i have crossover installed running counter strike source and day of defeat source its been working fina for the past week then a couple of hours ago i tried to open cs:s and there was no sound i checked everything from console to the settings i tried restarting my imac but still no luck if any one can help it would be much appreciated.thank u
     
  2. Frozonecold macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
  3. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    Did you look at the sound settings on crossover, make sure it is core audio output
     
  4. jonathan92 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Location:
    los angeles
    #4
    download but its been working perfectly for like a week

    where would i check sound settings cause its not in perfs.
     
  5. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #5
    Two suggestions.

    One: Please use some punctuation so it is easier to understand what you need help with.

    Two: Do yourself a favor and either get VMware or Parallels, install Windows XP or Vista, and be happy. Crossover is okay, but there are many issues such as what you have discovered.

    Also, be advised that on MacRumors we do not discuss ways to get around copy protection or how to acquire software, via downloads, that you do not own.
     
  6. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #6
    Uggh... :rolleyes::rolleyes: Please use proper punctuation (i.e. complete sentences, no run-on sentences) and capitalization of letters only when necessary. Reading your post is painful.

    And buy VMware Fusion and ditch Crossover.
     
  7. 1ncr3du10u5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #7
    Why hate Apple because you chose an imperfect way of playing Windows games or is it because Apple isn't Windows?
     
  8. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #8
    Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling?
     
  9. Knox Administrator

    Knox

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Steam is a legitimate download service provided by the game publisher.
     
  10. sargent bannana macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #10
    mac + gaming = EH!
    windows + gaming = YES!

    another reason is YOU DONT USE crossover USE boot camp or VM WARE
    especially css a windows only game macs just aint gaming machines
     
  11. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #11
    Oops. My mistake. Sorry.

    I was thinking of one of those services we are not allowed to talk about when I made my reply.

    Knox, thanks for the correction. :)
     
  12. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #12
    Don't use VMware for gaming. Minimal 3D support. If you want to game, then Crossover is a "maybe" and Boot Camp is a "yes."

    (Except that my Mac IS a gaming machine, and does NOT play games in Windows :) Which means, of course, no CSS for me.)

    VMWare and Parallels are superior to Boot Camp for many NON-gaming tasks of course.
     
  13. jonathan92 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Location:
    los angeles
    #13
    no i love apple and mac osx its just ive been having a hard time trying to do certain stuff on my mac
     
  14. jonathan92 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Location:
    los angeles
    #14
    i know boot camp would be the best choice but last time i tried doing boot camp i messed up my hard drive and the apple store had to install a new one and ever since that i cant do any software updates form apple so im stuck on 10.5.2 plus do u think if i took in my mac the apple store would help me with installinhg windows on my mac:)thanxz for all the replies
     

Share This Page