No sound in windows 10 using boot camp-Help?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by igilphoto, Apr 18, 2019.

  1. igilphoto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    #1
    Hi guys ,a few days ago I received a new iMac and decided to use boot camp for gaming .
    I just finished installing windows on an external drive using a "9to5mac" video and with the help of the updated comments there .
    At first my mack got stuck on installing the drivers in windows and i had to shut it down manually .The scariest thing I saw in a while ( a new mac after all )
    After that and after restoring the drivers installation all went pretty good except a big problem -
    I have no sound ):

    Tried to update windows and re installing the apple drivers but nothing helps .
    Does anybody encountered this and can help me out ?
    I've been stuck for hours with this .
     
  2. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #2
    I haven't encountered it but I can probably help you out :)

    Try uninstalling the drivers with DDU in safe mode and then reinstalling them

    Check Device Manager and see the sound card status on drivers.

    Check Windows' sound options and make sure it's associated with the correct output - It could be attempting to output audio via HDMI or something instead of whatever audio option you're trying to use.

    Probably do those in reverse order actually.....
     
  3. igilphoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    #3
    Hi ! Thank you for trying to help,it’s driving me crazy

    I tried checking sound options - it looks fine and if I run the troubleshooting it doesn’t detect a problem.
    Tried to update windows and reinstall the drivers but didn’t help also.
    What to you mean about the status?

    And the last one I didn’t understood,what is DDU?

    And how can I find the correct drivers?
    Tried to find manually but couldn’t find what I need , I’m not even sure what I need exactly.

    Everything seems to be up to date ,at least when ruining the checks and as I’m new to windows I’m not really sure what I need to download exactly
    --- Post Merged, Apr 19, 2019 ---
    Under “sound video and game controllers “
    I have 2 options -

    Amd high definition audio device
    And
    High definition audio device

    Both of the driver are dated to early 2018 in properties but I don’t find an update using the update function,and also don’t know where to look online .
    Do I need to “fix” the and option or the second one?what is the difference?

    * There is also the section of “audio inputs and outputs “
    Where I also tried to update the drivers without any success.

    Sorry for the long post just hate feeling helpless
    --- Post Merged, Apr 19, 2019 ---
    Found something else -
    If I look at the high definition audio device properties it says “device install requested”.
    Like I missed something and need to activate manually .
     
  4. Ruggy, Apr 19, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2019

    Ruggy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    #4
    Hmmm.
    OK, there is a mediaplayer called Videolan.
    Try installing that and seeing if you can get any sound out.
    The reason I mention it is because it comes with its own codecs and it's got me out of hole many times when something didn't play. Quick time for example won't play a video but Videolan will.
    It may just be a lack of the correct codecs for what you are trying to play.
    I don't know what you are trying to play but you should try sound from various sources and various apps as well
    Anyway, give Videolan a go and see if that helps.
    https://www.videolan.org
    --- Post Merged, Apr 19, 2019 ---
    Additionally, something else has just occurred to me.
    It's been a while since I installed Windows but the last time I did, the media player wasn't enabled by default.
    It was some kind of royalty issue MS didn't want to pay so you had to go into the Windows settings and enable it.
    This may well be out of date but I thought it might be worth checking.
    Anyway, I'm pretty sure Videolan (VLC Media player) will play just about anything so give that a go first, but it maybe that you still have to enable media player.
    Usually when you buy a machine with Windows pre-installed it's done for you but as you are doing it yourself....
    You also have to register your copy of Windows to enable it to play DRM registered files.
    You might need to check that but then you'd probably be getting error messages.
    Good luck and I hope something there helps.
     
  5. Rocinante2000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #5
    I had and solved this issue. The issue is the driver support pack you download from bootcamp assistant is very different from the support pack that gets downloaded during installation to a partitioned drive.

    Solution.

    TEMPORARILY install to the smallest partition you can afford, I think it's 96GB. Let bootcamp do its magic, sound will work and you will hear the Cortana prompts during install.

    Once Windows is installed and Bootcamp assistant has finished installing all the drivers, Download DD (Double Driver). Its free and available via a google search.

    Run DD and backup all the Drivers, you will also not only get the correct sound card driver, but there is also a missing system driver you get too. Save DD and the backed up drivers to a thumb drive or network drive, anywhere other than the partition.

    edit - Don't forget to delete the 96GB partition once you are done to regain that space.

    Now run the how to install on external USB tutorial as you did before.

    Run Bootcamp Assistant to install most of the drivers/control panel software

    Run DD and there is an option to only reinstall non Microsoft drivers. Once this has completed you will have a full compliment of drivers and a nice clean install.

    FWIW I am using a spare NVME SSD over USB C in a 3.1 NVME enclosure. Windows works incredibly well.
     
  6. bruinsrme macrumors 603

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #6
  7. Rocinante2000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #7
    That method wont work for this issue, because the wrong drivers are being downloaded by the Bootcamp Assistant.
     
  8. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #8
    So; I'm going to respond directly to the following, ignoring all the other posts that've come since. I don't know super much about Windows specifically, and I may be going down a different path than the other commenters. Their paths may be more correct than mine, I don't know, but at least this way there are more options to try. I am not coming at this from the angle that Boot Camp has installed incorrect drivers, but instead that there was an incomplete driver installation.

    In Device Manager (right click the Start menu to get to it) you can right click your audio device, click properties, and there is a section called "Driver" where it says that status of the driver, like "Working correctly", "Missing" etc.

    DDU is a program. It is Display Driver Uninstaller. Don't be fooled by the name however, it can uninstall both GPU drivers and audio drivers. Sometimes driver installations on Windows don't just cleanly uninstall if you just try and remove them with a regular uninstaller. They leave behind registry keys and various other remnants that DDU will remove entirely, so that if there are remains of a broken driver installation, you can start over fresh.

    Different Macs come with different audio controllers. Most use either Intel or RealTeck I think. Device Manager should tell you what you have :). If you still have the BootCamp drivers, after trying DDU I'd just give that another go.

    AMD audio is the audio connected to your GPU; That is, the audio that would come out of HDMI. High Definition Audio is the device that handles the 3.5mm jack. There's more than one audio pathway in the system, and whilst one may not work, the other may - I'm assuming you're using built-in speakers for this? There should be an audio selection in Windows for the built-in speakers, alongside the 3.5mm port, HDMI etc. Make sure it's set to the right one. macOS automatically switches between 3.5mm and built-in speakers, but in my experience, Windows won't always pick built-in speakers to start with.

    Where exactly did it say this and were there any related buttons?
     
  9. igilphoto, Apr 20, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2019

    igilphoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    #9
    First of last thank you all for trying to help me out!
    @Rocinante2000 ,
    I will try this method thank you ,I at first didn't understood you as I thought i need to run DD in apple os
    --- Post Merged, Apr 20, 2019 ---
    It didn’t work for me unfortunately,I tried it ):
     
  10. cuppino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
  11. igilphoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    #11
    It worked!
    Thank you so much !
     
  12. cuppino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    #12
  13. igilphoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    #13
  14. igilphoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    #14
    Hey good afternoon !

    I forgot to ask about a small issue that is still bothering me - I can't choose the windows boot camp drive in the "startup disk" on my mac .
    I have to manually restart the mac ,and then hit "alt" while loading and only then I can choose a different startup drive .

    Does it hurt the mac in any way? Do you know of any way to fix it ?
     
  15. cuppino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    #15
    At mac nothing happens if you do it by hand.
    I used the pro version of wintousb and can select the boot disk even from osx.
    When I used the free version I was in the same situation as you.
     
  16. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #16

    Hurt the Mac? There's no difference in how it boots between the two approaches. If you select the boot drive from witin either OS, it sets a boot flag in NVRAM to select that drive. If you hold alt during boot, it just sets a different boot flag to allow selection. There's no risk associated with interacting with the pre-boot environment at all; Why should there be? it's all intended behaviour.

    If you want the Windows partition to be visible in System preferences, you may need to bless the partition again; I'm not entirely familiar with how System Preferences identifies bootable drives, but I assume it just scans for blessed volumes.
     

Share This Page

15 April 18, 2019