No sound on my MBP with Win7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by e-friend, Dec 26, 2009.

  1. e-friend macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #1
    The title says it all. I am using the latest driver from Realtek. The optical beam will not turn off, and I believe this is the problem. The computer is looking for an optical device where there isn't one. How can I turn this off? I've played with the sound settings with no luck. This worked before I reinstalled Windows, I don't want to play games (And listen to music, haha!) without sound. If you have any experience with this, I would appreciate your help.

    Thanks.
     
  2. themightyspitz macrumors regular

    themightyspitz

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #2
    Virtually the same issue for me. I just installed the 64-Bit Windows 7 on my Late 08 Alu. Macbook, and I can't install the SigmaTel audio drivers from my Snow Leopard disk. Got no sound and the headphone jack has a little red light.
     
  3. Shu15 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    I had these problems when I installed the W7 RC, but I guess I downloaded the correct drivers for it to work.
     
  4. El Burro macrumors regular

    El Burro

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #4

    the drivers are out that fix the audio problems with the 64 bit windows 7 on a macbook pro (aluminum 13 inch).

    They fix the volume issue and also enable the ability to use the microphone as well.

    If you do some macrumors forum and google searches, you'll find them.

    If I remember correctly, I found them after finding a big thread on the apple.com forum and towards the more recent posts someone posted the correct solution.

    Download here: http://www.sussex.tec.nj.us/files/CirrusAudio.10.6.1.zip

    Thread is from here: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1860928&tstart=0
     
  5. Jottle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    #5
    I'm pretty sure those "stuffedcow.net" drivers only work for xp/vista/win7 32bit. They won't work for people who have 64bit versions of win 7.
     
  6. El Burro macrumors regular

    El Burro

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #6
    I have 64 bit windows 7 and it did the job and it even says on the page that it can work for 64 bit windows 7.
     
  7. El Burro macrumors regular

    El Burro

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #7

    I posted the wrong one.

    http://www.sussex.tec.nj.us/files/CirrusAudio.10.6.1.zip

    Download, extract to desktop, and upgrade the drivers. It'll work.
     

Share This Page