No space left on Macintosh HD

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by J. J., Aug 20, 2014.

  1. J. J. macrumors regular

    J. J.

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    #1
    Hi. Since when I installed OS X Yosemite on my rMBP (without touching any partition on the SSD) I've had a problem about disk space. Macintosh HD seems to be full (Finder says "0 bytes free" and some apps encounter errors because they can't write on the boot volume), which is very strange because I don't remember to have filled up my SSD. So I downloaded OmniDiskSweeper to verify which files were taking up so much disk space. The result? According to OmniDiskSweeper, all the files on Macintosh HD only fill 93.2 GB of 250 GB of space. So why are more than 150 GB unavailable?
    I opened Disk Utility and I enabled the option "Show every partition" in the Debug menu. Then I understood that, probably, there is something wrong with partitions:

    http://s30.postimg.org/vr795rtz4/image.jpg
    http://s30.postimg.org/wqxk1h94w/image.jpg
    http://s30.postimg.org/frolm7xxc/image.jpg

    What should I do?
     
  2. Fimeg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #2
  3. J. J. thread starter macrumors regular

    J. J.

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    #3
    I'm going to reformat. I don't think there is much else I could do.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Your links are dead. What was the issue?

    Did you try to get a listing of what's occupying your HD, i.e., use this terminal command
    sudo du -d 1 -x -c -g /
     
  5. blastactionhero macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    #5
    i deleted the whole safari-cache path.
    restarted safari and everything worked fine again.

    thats a better solution then reformating, if it helps. :)
     
  6. Fimeg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #6
    NO.... that worked? Man... That'd have saved me much time indeed. I did notice the problem elevated the moment Safari was active... but it persisted after I quit the program. Dang.
     
  7. Olaf.cc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #7
    Yeah


    I had 140TB available. Or 0 bytes free. Depends where you look.

    Thanks to your tip everything is fine again. :)

    Look at: "/Users/<userid>/Library/Caches/com.apple.Safari", delete the .db's

    :apple:
     
  8. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #8
    :eek:

    404 - Data not found :D
     

Share This Page