No tax and education discount (MBA '13)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Ray111, Jul 1, 2013.

1. Ray111, Jul 1, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2013

Ray111 macrumors newbie

Hey guys,

I was wondering, is it possible to make use of both tax free purchasing and the education discount? I'm planning on heading out to Oregon in a few weeks and I'm also a foreign student at a Dutch University, but my parents live in SF. Any idea's how I can combine these two? I was thinking of having my order delivered to an apple store in Oregon..

Also, would it be possible to include the upcoming back to school promo ?

Thanks guys !

EDIT: I was thinking, maybe I can get both if I call a Oregon Apple store , place the order by phone and ask for the student discount ?

2. bradl macrumors 68040

bradl

To be honest, I would say to wait until you made it out to Oregon, and buy it in store. That way you won't have to worry about confusion in the purchase price and shipping (shipping may eat into the final cost).

So just head to the store in Oregon, buy the MBA, use student discount, and you're done.

BL.

3. aristobrat macrumors G4

FWIW, Apple Store's can't take credit card numbers of the telephone, so you can't order directly through them.

You can try ordering online through the educational website and choosing the option of shipping to the store. Not sure how it handles out-of-country students, though.

4. talmy macrumors 601

talmy

The student discount doesn't say "US Student" so the answer should be "Yes" to all your questions. However I don't know if you can order by phone.

A student ID card will get you the discount in the store.

5. Ray111 thread starter macrumors newbie

I want the maxed out MBA (i7/8GB RAM), and I'm not sure they will have those in stock. Judging from what I've read, they usually don't.. otherwise, yea.. picking it up at the store would be the best way to go.

----------