No timecode in QT movie

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by SpookTheHamster, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. SpookTheHamster macrumors 65816

    SpookTheHamster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #1
    My girlfriend has a quicktime movie exported from final cut to use for some post-production sound, but quicktime isn't giving her the option to view the timecode instead of the time.

    Does the movie have to be exported from Final Cut with a particular format/settings to retain the timecode?
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    What about the EDL?

    And why does the sound post production need the TC and from what, the source media or the finished sequence?

    There is also the TC burn in generator, found under Video Filters.
     
  3. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    Export->QuickTime Movie (*not* QT conversion) will give you the timecode from your timeline. Most audio people want a window burn though (TC burned into the picture).


    Lethal
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    Where is the TC visible?

    How can one read the embedded TC then?
     
  5. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    Click on the counter to the left of the progress bar in QT player and you'll be able to choose from Standard (default hh/mm/ss display), Timecode (if there is a timecode track) or Frames (sequential frame counting). The TC feature was added at the same time FCS 2 came out, I think.


    Lethal
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    Wow, learned something new.

    Thanks. Now I have to try it with Avid. But I doubt it will work.
     

Share This Page