No Turbo Boost on new Airs?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Chipg, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. Chipg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    #1
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #3
    Not sure but the benchmarks so far are that the new 13" Airs are faster than 2010 17" MBPs. Crazy.
     
  3. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
  4. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #5
    It's a curious thing though.

    it will depend on how the fans kick in as it can only boost if it's under a certain temp.

    The better it's cooled, the better it boosts (and the longer it's active).

    There's an Intel app for Windows that shows the boost.

    I have a MBP quad and it works fine but it has two fans.
     
  5. warren705 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    #6

    Attached Files:

  6. mopatops macrumors regular

    mopatops

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I spoke to some of the chat staff on the Apple website and on the first two occasions were told they don't have the information available to them. The 3rd time the guy contacted a Senior Mac Expert and told me that the specification was exactly as listed in the Intel website meaning that yes they did support TurboBoost. Can't say I'm not a little worried given the uncertainty of the chat staff.
     
  7. mathov macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #8
    genius on apple store tell me all new macbook air don't have turboboost because they are dual core
     
  8. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #9
    Shocking isn't it, what's happened to the term "genius".

    They are going to have to make an adjustment in the English language.

    def: Genius

    1) A very smart person.
    2) A very stupid, clueless servant to the great and powerful Jobs
    3) Mac Jones
     
  9. neteng101 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #10
    Dumbest comment ever - TurboBoost may not run when both cores are cranking, but when running a single core process is when it kicks in. Shows their ignorance I guess.
     
  10. trondah macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #11
    Genius ! = knowledgeable

    You could argue that a genius would know better than to talk about things he doesn't know though.
     
  11. pandamonia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    #12
    Who seriously gets tech advice from the often polite but spotty students working in the apple store?
     
  12. Elwe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #13
    If someone has one already

    http://www.bresink.com/osx/TemperatureMonitor.html

    can you download and run this app? This could settle this question of whether Apple has disabled Turbo Boost. The two pictures I have seen indicates two cores and four threads . . . plenty of ways to confirm that. To confirm boosting, please run an intensive app (Seti, Handbrake, openssl speed, etc) and let's see.
     

Share This Page