No "Use audio port for" menu

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TJaames, Jun 6, 2010.

  1. TJaames macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #1
    Hey guys
    I'm trying to use an external microphone on my 17" mbp, and since there is no jack for the microphone, I read that there should be a "use audio port for" option in my sound interface through system preferences where I can change the output of the one audio into an input, yet there is no such menu. Is there any option, or do I have to buy a converter (I'd really rather not)
    If I do have to buy a converter, do they sell them at walmart or staples, or do I have to order it offline?
    Thanks in advanced.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    What do you mean, you don't have a jack for the mic?
    features_io17_20100509.jpg
    From page 21 of your MacBook Pro User's Guide that came with your MBP:
    Picture 570.jpg
     
  3. TJaames thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #3
    oh.. then I don't understand why it won't pick up the audio...
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Check your settings in System Preferences > Sound > Input.
     
  5. TJaames thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #5
    I have. When I press external nothing happens :\
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    What brand/model mic do you have?
     
  7. TJaames thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #7
    "Line in"- Built-in Input is selected. The headset is on but the mic is not picking up any sound :\
    It's an HP headset. The headphone parts are working fine
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    Is it seated well in the Audio In port? Again, what model headset do you have? Do you know the model number?
     
  9. TJaames thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #9
    "Hp Premium Stereo Headset"
    Version 3.0 is the name of it. no model number.
    It's plugged into the jack
     
  10. theaero macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #10
    The audio Input jack is line level. Most mics will need to be preamplified first, or you won't get a (usable) signal. Impedance, etc also come into play. The audio in port on a mbp is not a mic port. It accepts line level signals (-10dbv I believe??)
     
  11. TJaames thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
  12. TJaames thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #12
    I also have a mic from Microsoft that doesn't work either :\
     
  13. theaero macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #13
    It means you need a mic preamp, to bring the mics level up to line level. Otherwise, you can only use that port for bringing in signals that are already at line level. CD players, ipods, etc etc.

    Its fairly uncommon for laptops to not have a mic input, but unfortunately no current apple computers do.
     
  14. TJaames thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #14
    Do you know if they would sell them at walmart or staples?
     

Share This Page