No Visual Voicemail in iOS 9 beta

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by burnside, Jul 22, 2015.

  1. burnside macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #1
    Does anyone else not have visual voicemail in iOS 9? I have a 6+ and so far both public betas I have installed do not have visual voicemail. If you touch the voicemail icon it simply calls your providers mailbox.
     
  2. TwiceNightly macrumors 6502

    TwiceNightly

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #2
    I had that at first, a reboot fixed it
     
  3. chekz0414 macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #3
    Which Carrier? I never had this issue until beta 4/PB 2...
     
  4. junglesnake macrumors 6502

    junglesnake

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #5
    Same problem with Verizon and T-Mobile iPhone 6's beta 4. Rebooting will not fix this.
     
  5. chekz0414 macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #6
    I have MetroPCS and got this too, AND a cellular update is available but won't apply on my 6 Plus it just stays at 20.5.2
     
  6. burnside thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #7
    I have AT&T and a reboot did nothing. I guess that's why it's a beta. :)
     
  7. Mikesjava macrumors newbie

    Mikesjava

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    #8
    Just updated (09/17/2015) to IOS 9 on iPhone 6... and among other bugs.. .no visual voicemail!
     
  8. burnside thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #9
    You just need to reset your voicemail password. If on AT&T, dial 611.
     
  9. GatorRon1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    #10
    Worked for me on ATT.
    Dial 611
    Press 2 (technical support including voice mail)
    Press 1 (For help with voicemail)
    Press 1 (Reset your password)

    On the iPhone, press Phone icon, Press Voicemail then Setup Voicemail
    Enter a new password. I did not use or otherwise need the temporary password AT&T sent me in a text message.
     
  10. Pyssid macrumors member

    Pyssid

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Location:
    Seattle
    #11
     
  11. Pyssid macrumors member

    Pyssid

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Location:
    Seattle
    #12
    This worked for me. Lost Visual Voicemail after downloading iOS 9 (AT&T). I thank everyone for the help.
     
  12. tivoboy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    #13
    This didn't work for me, on 91.b5,anyone know how to fix it again? are the voicemails GONE or just not showing up on the phone?
     
  13. chekz0414 macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #14
    I've linked this to iOS 9.1 not supporting the carriers I have MetroPCS on iPhone 6s Plus; when I had it on iPhone 6 Plus on iOS 9 beta I had to wait for the Carrier Update for my carrier when 9.0 released. Once I updated to the final 9.0 the carrier update applied and I got Visual Voicemail back etc...
     
  14. jmantn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    Tn
    #15
    If it helps anyone this is what I did and I'm on Sprint (which I don't think matters):

    1. I went to my voicemail tab within the phone app which automatically calls into your VM.
    2. Go through the VM prompts to get to the part where you can change your VM passcode and change it then end the call.
    3. Visual VM should be working almost instantly.

    You can then go to settings and phone then select change VM passcode and change it back to whatever it was previously.

    You cannot go to the settings app then phone and change VM passcode first. It won't fix it.

    I searched through years of posts trying to fix this including updating the carrier settings (settings-general-about and tap on carrier), resetting network settings and even a restore and what fixed it was the steps listed above.
     
  15. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #16
    I had this issue and tried numerous things to fix it. I had cell data turned off and turning it back on solved the problem.
     
  16. VSMacOne macrumors 601

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #17
    A fix that's worked for me in the past was to call from a different number we and leave a voicemail for myself. That usually forces the popup to appear that asks for your voicemail password and enables Visual voicemail.
     
  17. AbelRuiz macrumors newbie

    AbelRuiz

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #18
    --- Post Merged, Jul 3, 2016 ---
    I had this problem over 6 months after purchasing the new iPhone 6S in January of 2016 and from day one could not get this resolved with apple support. metro pcs tech support was even worse which has some 3rd party in India who can barely speak proper English making phone conversations literally very difficult. It seems when hitting the voice mail key to view voice mail messages it dials the voice mail service to enter your password to hear your voice mail messages. I was finally able to get this issue resolved last night after losing my phone. I logged into iCloud and reported my phone missing and was transferred to to the application called find my iPhone and it sent an alarm to my iPhone. Once the alarm was sent and tracked my phone the visual voicemail began to work and I was able to see information changed in general >> about menu where the Carrier was only showing 24.2. After getting my iPhone to track my device the information changed and now it shows MetroPCS 24.2 in the carrier field and now my visual voicemail works. As long as your information shows only the number of the version without the name MetroPCS your visual voicemail will not work since it doesn't recognize who your carrier is. Once it reads MetroPCS followed by the version 24.2 or 23.2 or etc then your visual voicemail should should recognize what server handles the visual voicemail feature. Keep asking for carrier updates from your iPhone and then open iCloud then find my iPhone apps and track your phone and you should get your information changed in carrier to display your carrier name followed by the version number. Hope this clears the nightmare I endured with no help from Apple or MetroPCS
     

Share This Page