No WIFI SYNC option in summary tab??

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by fortress, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. fortress macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #1
    hi!!! AM i alone with this problem??

    I just updated my IPOD touch to the latest IOS and itunes but, when i go to the summary tab, no WIFY sync option??

    i'm runnning windows 7


    i dont understant.. The only option i have is SYNC WITH THIS IPOD OVER
     
  2. mbhforum macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #2
    Do you have the latest version of itunes 10.5?
     
  3. verticleculture macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #3
    same problem

    I'm having the same issue, and I DO have the latest version of iTunes etc.
     
  4. Par Avion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    #4
    WiFi Sync option is only available in Snow Leopard and Lion :(
     
  5. S7A2G6 macrumors member

    S7A2G6

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Location:
    America (**** Yeah)
  6. verticleculture macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #6
    Thanks, I looked all over apple's website for minimum requirements and didn't see them.
     
  7. iceterminal macrumors 68000

    iceterminal

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Tx.
    #7
    This is not correct. I have it working in Windows 7 just fine.
     
  8. burmguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #8


    I thought this sounded strange. The apple site even says for Mac or PC...i hate misinformed people :(
     
  9. damirski, Oct 13, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2011

    damirski macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #9
    ok here is my summary screen shot, do not have the option
    is my OS too old? 10.5.8
     

    Attached Files:

  10. iWaldo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #10
    I have the same issue. Running Leopard 10.5.8. All the requirements on Apple's site say is "iTunes 10.5" though.
     
  11. bjackson2718 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #11
    +1
     
  12. Par Avion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    #12

    You need Snow Lep or Lion. Apple dropped the ball for not informing people of this.
     
  13. iWaldo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #13
    I was afraid of that. Maybe I'll have a new laptop before the iPhone 5 comes out :(
     
  14. Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #14
    I have been unable to sync by WiFi and I'm using Leopard. Now I know why. I've wasted two days trying. I still have iCloud and cable but I wasted a lot of time not knowing I had the wrong system software. I'm using a Mac Laptop G4 with a Power PC processor and Leopard is the last OSX that it can run.
     
  15. iphone1105 macrumors 68020

    iphone1105

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #15
    That sucks, but honestly, having used wifi sync 3 times now since tuesday, I can say it's nice to have but slow. Not that slow, but slow enough so to speak.
     
  16. Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #16
    I guess that this is the excuse I needed to get a MacBook Air or iMac.
     
  17. iphone1105 macrumors 68020

    iphone1105

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #17
    Any excuse is a good excuse!:)
     
  18. fortress thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #18


    ?? hwat?? iTs supposed to be WIndows COmpatible
     
  19. FranzMarc macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    #19
    Someone in another thread said you had to have "Back up to iCloud" enabled, but this can't really have anything to do with iTunes sync can it...
     
  20. rujeepn2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #20
    Hi all! I used Window Vista and when I first downloaded itunes 10.5 and downloaded the IOS 5 software for my iphone 4, I was not getting an option for “Sync with Wi-FI” on the computer itunes Summary screen. This is what I done:
    1. Re-downloaded itunes 10.5
    2. Once the download was completed, I was given an option to either “Repair and replace” or “Erase”. I chose repair and replace.
    3. Once the installation was complete, I opened itunes from the start menu (not the shortcut).
    4. i connected my iphone 4
    5. On the summary screen, remember to scroll down. The option for sync with wifi is at the bottom of the summary screen.
    6. Click on sync with wi-fi and click Apply at the bottom of the summary screen.
    7. Works Perfectly!!!!!
    I hope this helps someone!
     
  21. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #21
    It doesn't. I backup to my Mac manually every once in a while to have a local copy and it doesn't stop working.
     

Share This Page