non-4k display: 27" vs 30" - worth the price?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MRrainer, Dec 3, 2014.

1. MRrainer macrumors 6502a

Hi,

I'm thinking of buying a new display for a maxed-out 2012 i7 Mini (2.3 GHz).

I don't do much photo-editing, no video and obviously no gaming.

At times, I do some VMs and have a lot of terminal-windows open (I'm a unix sysadmin). I may need to write documentation, draw-up stuff in OmniGraffle...

So, the question boils down to: are the additional 160 pixels worth the price?

I would love to hear from people who have used both.

Actual models I'm considering:
    - Dell U3014
    - HP z30i (if I get a decent discount via $work)
    - HP z27i (dito)
    - ViewSonic VP2770 LED
    - Dell U2713H (apparently same LG display as below, as per PRAD.de review) - is this the "best" of the U27xx displays? They have far too many models for my taste...
    - NEC PA272 (expensive, but I have a penchant for good displays and the price is still OK-ish, compared to their Spectra-View offerings which I really don't need anyway)
    - maybe just be cheap (after all, it's mostly text what I'm after) and get one of the cheap 2560x1440 offerings from AOC, ASUS, Benq or Phillips? They're essentially between a third and a half of the price of the above NEC.
    - NEC's PA302 looks nice - but price-wise it's most likely beyond what I can "sell" my GF....(cough...cough)

I really want a solid display that is easy on the eyes and good for text-work.
    I do watch movies on my Mac, but I could live with sub-par performance on that front.
    At work, I have dual HP ZR24 with Linux, which is OK, but I feel I could make more of a single large display (Eizo's new 24" screen with the 1mm bezel also looks interesting - the bezel of the ZR24s is far too big for my taste)

I live in a country with relatively "weak" consumer-rights.