Non Apple display

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Howieshel, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. Howieshel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #1
    Hi all,

    Can i use a non apple display say a dell or panosonic HDCP compliant 24" or 30" with the new Mac pro?

    Any conflic's to concider?
     
  2. Sorkvild macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #2
    I am pretty sure any kind of display works fine as long as you can plug it in!
     
  3. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #3
    Yeah, as long as its got the right plug you're fine. I use a 24" Dell on my Macbook.
     
  4. savar macrumors 68000

    savar

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    District of Columbia
    #4
    Generally speaking. But the OP asked about a 30" screen, too. A 30" screen with dual-dvi output will only work if you have a dual-dvi video card on your mac pro.

    Then again, I guess that is just another case of "having the right plug".
     
  5. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #5
    With the Mac Pro you will be fine. I believe all of their cards have dual dvi.
     
  6. CST macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #6
    Yeah, from the 7300 GT up. I don't know why you'd have anything less than the 7300 though.
     
  7. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #7
    True, though every Mac Pro (I believe) came/comes with a dual link card. (There is a difference between dual-link DVI and dual DVI.)
     

Share This Page