non-SR MacBook Pros: HDCP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jasonbrennan, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. jasonbrennan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    #1
    I've got a macbook pro from last year (Aug 2006), 15 inch. I plan on getting an Xbox 360 HD DVD player and watching HD DVDS from Windows on it ( I will also be getting a Cinema Display whenever they update them next).

    I thought I had it all thought out until I remembered about HDCP! I think the ACDs are HDCP compliant (could be wrong, OR they could be in the new versions whenever they come out) but my main concern is whether or not my MacBook Pro's video card is. I have a feeling it isn't. I know the Santa Rosa ones are, but not sure about mine.

    Then again, it might not matter if it is or not because if I recall, HDCP only hinders you if the HD DVD implements it, which apparently none of them do yet (again, could be wrong there). So maybe I don't really have anythign to worry about. I'm away for the summer with only my laptop, but my Mac Pro at home doesn't have this problem, so it's only temporary if I can't watch HD DVDs (in HD) on my macbook pro
     
  2. jasonbrennan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    I did some Googling because I was curious too... ATI's site says it builds all the X-series so that they are capable of having HDCP on DVI, but it is not necessarily supported on all implementations. Meaning that the cards in all the MBPs are possibly HDCP compliant. But I'm not sure if there's any way to test that? Tiger doesn't even implement HDCP, does it? Is there anything out there that you can actually do on a Mac to see if HDCP is working?
     
  4. jasonbrennan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    #4
    No I don't think there is yet. But that's really great news if the card itself if compliant! That means when in Windows the driver could/should be compliant! Excellent. I'll try to look it up some more but I will let you know for sure when I get all my gear. Silly drm... It's just a HINDERANCE!
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Mmm, it's a little more confusing than that. Sorry I didn't provide a link earlier. Take a look:

    http://ati.amd.com/products/mobilityradeonx1600/specs.html

    Specifically:

     
  6. jasonbrennan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    #6
    Okay well still, to me that seems like it would work when I boot Windows. Don't know about Tiger, sadly. I don't think Tiger has that implemented. But I know if running Windows and say PowerDVD then that will work. Or at least it REALLY should
     

Share This Page