None of my browsers can load Gmail, AH?!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Amantaban, Feb 28, 2010.

  1. Amantaban macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #1
    This has been going on for a couple weeks but I'm tired of sending emails only from my iPhone. ALL of my browsers (Safari, Opera, Webkit, Firefox, Chrome) can't connect to the Gmail servers or the Google Image server either, but they load fine on my moms Mac while on the same network.

    Is there a setting I need to change or something? Please Mac Gods, help thy neighbor.
     
  2. John Doe 57 macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    Try this:
    1. Download OnyX (a free maintenance utility).

    10.6 Snow Leopard Link:
    http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/11582

    10.5 Leopard Link:
    http://pagesperso-orange.fr/joel.barriere/dl/105/OnyX.dmg

    10.4 Tiger Link:
    http://www.titanium.free.fr/dl/104/OnyX.dmg

    2. Open OnyX and Click Cancel on these two Alert Panels:
    -Cancel the S.M.A.R.T. Box
    -Cancel the Startup Volume Box

    3. Enter your Password

    4. Click on the Cleaning Tab

    5. In each tab, within the Cleaning Tab, execute the command. Check all the boxes in each tab. When its finished in that tab, it will ask you to reboot. Say NO. Go on to the next tab and repeat until all tabs, within the Cleaning Tab, are done. THEN REBOOT.
     
  3. Amantaban thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #3
    thanks so much. ill give it a try.

    much appreciated!
     
  4. Amantaban thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #4
    yea that actually didn't work. got any other ideas?
     
  5. Signal-11 macrumors 65816

    Signal-11

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    2nd Star to the Right
    #5
    I had a similar issue some time ago, but don't recall exactly how I resolved it.

    Onyx should have done this, but try anyway:

    Unplug your Ethernet/turn off Airport.

    Clear the cache on all of your browsers.

    Then in a terminal window, enter the following:

    Code:
    dscacheutil -flushcache
    Log out, then try.
     
  6. Amantaban thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #6
    sorry, im not too tech savy, when you say "terminal window", you mean what exactly?

    UPDATE: It has now spread to youtube as well.
     
  7. John Doe 57 macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    Terminal is in the Utilities Folder on your Hard Drive. I don't mess around with it much mainly because its confusing for me.
     
  8. Signal-11 macrumors 65816

    Signal-11

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    2nd Star to the Right
    #8
    Hit your CMD and Spacebar at the same time to bring up Spotlight. Then type in "terminal" into the bar that shows up on the upper right. Hit Enter.

    Then type in "dscacheutil -flushcache" and hit enter. Then log out from your Apple menu, then log back in.

    But first, flush all of your browser caches. Do you need more specific directions on how to do that?
     
  9. Amantaban thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
  10. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #10
    Know anyone that has diskwarrior or an apple care CD with TTP on it? You could give that a shot.

    What computer/os are you running?
     
  11. Signal-11 macrumors 65816

    Signal-11

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    2nd Star to the Right
    #11
    Okay. Silly question time.

    Can you get to these pages via a proxy, such as www.proxy-service.de?

    Are you running or have you recently installed any firewalls or content blockers, such as LittleSnitch or PeerGuardian?
     
  12. rsholzma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #12
    I had this same problem. it has something to do with PeerGuardian and other like applications. I had been using PeerGuardian for months and then one day google just stopped working. just get rid of it and google will start working again.
     
  13. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #13
    How are you connected to the internet? Is it via modem and router? Wireless?
     
  14. Amantaban thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #14
    it was PeerGuardian!!!!

    that jerk of a program. thanks rsholzma. I really appreciate it.
     

Share This Page