nonfunctional apps after update

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by macpluslaptop, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. macpluslaptop macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #1
    I've lost the use of 10 apps after updating - including about $20 worth of paid apps. When I click the app's icon, it tries to open but just bounces back to the iphone screen.:mad:

    Any ideas? It really burns me to have a $10 app just sit there.
     
  2. cubs1987 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #2
    I'm having the same problem: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=544048
    Although I didn't have any apps before I updated. but ya...it seems you can only have 16 apps that have been "utilized" and the rest just send you back to your home screen.
     
  3. japaget macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #3
    Reboot

    I had the same problem today with Source Forge Net News. Rebooting the iPhone cured the problem. Failing that, I would have deleted the application and reinstalled it. My experience on a variety of computer platforms has been that these steps cure most problems with non-responsive applications.
     
  4. macpluslaptop thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #4
    found the solution

    I just restored my iphone - it prompts you to save your settings (mail, etc.) and then proceeds to wipe clean and reinstall any app you've downloaded previously (they're saved in iTunes whenever you download them). Takes time, unfortunately, but the apps are reinstalled and work.

    It was a pain to lose the use of the phone for the hour it took to figure this out...

    Thanks japget for the thoughts - I did delete apps and reinstall, but they were still corrupted. This particular iphone issue requires restoring and starting over with your apps. Unless they fix this, using the Apps Store will become a real pain for most people at some point.
     
  5. cubs1987 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #5
    sorry if this sounds like a very noob question (which it is cause I only got it 2 days ago) but you do the restore when the ipod is connected and you click restore to factory settings? is that correct?
     
  6. macpluslaptop thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #6
    Yes, connect the iphone/touch, it will walk you through it. But when it says 'restore the settings' or something similar, you'll probably want to say 'yes' because then you won't have to put your mail settings in manually again.

    And this should mean that you can have as many apps as you want enabled at once.:)
     
  7. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #7
    You could also try deleting the app and redownloading (you won't get charged again).

    Or you could delete the app and resync with iTunes.
     
  8. TreoRenegade macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #8
    FWIW, I've found that downloading/upgrading ONLY direct via the iPhone (first generation) prevents such problems.

    Last week, I bumped into the problems described here, always after itunes syncing -- where an upgraded app was included. Rebooting the iPhone usually worked. Monday, I was away from my desktop, so that's when I did the upgrade d/l to the phone. When I realized "hey, no hassles", I started using that method religiously. I've done this several times this week, and it's been smooth sailing.

    (Of course, now that I've said that, the dang thing will probably futz up again. Fortunately, I use WinDoze, so such weirdness-on-the-eThing is anything but foreign to me. <sigh>)
     

Share This Page