Noob attempt to Dowbgrade problems

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by relok, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. relok macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #1
    Last night i attempted to change the firmware from 4.3.5 to 4.0.1

    After a couple hours i finally got a successful firmware restore to 4.0.1
    but the phone never booted up. It seems to be stuck in DFU mode and will not exit it no matter what.

    Does anyone have any advice on what i can do to fix this?
     
  2. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #2
    use tiny umbrella to kick it out of recovery

    if tiny umbrella does see the phone in recovery that download Rec Boot to do it
     
  3. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #3
    Is this how you consider success? end up with a phone in DFU?

    Can you hard reboot the phone?
     
  4. relok thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #4
    It's not stuck in recovery, Its stuck in DFU. From what i read its slightly different. Blank scrren always power and home buttons can be held for any amount of times and it will not boot.


    All i meant by success was IT completed the restore with no errors. The phone will not boot. Its on but will not go past the blank black DFU screen.

    Ive tried using tU and rec boot to kick it but like i said i think this mode is considered slightly different then the recovery mode that you actually can kick it.
     
  5. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #5
    Do a hard reset on the phone and see what happen.
     
  6. relok thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #6
    by hard reset you mean holding power and home? I could hold those buttons all day any nothing will happen except it will stay in a blank black screen dfu mode.

    or did you mean something else by hard reset?
     

Share This Page