Noob Hard Disk errors

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Gillustration, Apr 24, 2010.

1. Gillustration macrumors newbie

Imac OSX 10.5, started getting allot of the pinwheel.. know next to nothing about this IMac, just use it for photo's/artwork/Safari/Gmail/CL.

Googled problem, found Disk Utility..Do I need to insert start up disks to do that? Did it without 'em and Mac goes to Blk. screen before it finishes (both on verify/repair) It shows a bunch of errors!?!.

I got OnyX and it starts out saying "volume error" and that I better back up..
    How do I do that? (get a 500gig ex. HD?)

IMac runs pretty fast other than typing/surfing.

I'm a lost and clueless noob..

Thanks!

2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Could you try that again, more slowly and using complete sentences?

3. Gillustration thread starter macrumors newbie

Noob hard disk error

Yeah, no stress here while typing my dissertation... aarrgghh!! I lost 2 posts that took about an hour to compose (pinwheel hell) before resorting to "incomplete sentences"... I'll try again.
    My IMac (2.4 GHz Core 2, 1GB 800MHz DDR2 SDRAM) started running real slow after having a power supply and cable replaced. The fans would always run before this was done, and it ran fine for about a week before I started getting allot of pinwheel action.