noob iMac convert - no command+ for Mail composition?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Infin 8, Jan 2, 2009.

1. Infin 8 macrumors newbie

I am an iMac noob but not new to forums. I have tried searching and cannot find answers so I started this thread.

Just got a new 24" iMac and LOVE it. However, if I keep the resolution high, I find that I really need the command+ (way better than zoom). I got this big beautiful screen because it can sit 3-4 feet from my chair and I can see it easily. At the high resolution, fonts appear small.

The Mail program is frustrating. I can increase the mailbox font for the mailboxes, can increase the font for the mail list, but there is no change for the preview pane?? i have to Command+ (x2) in the preview pane for each and every email. It is a nuisance. Is there a work around?

With all of the super cool features Apple has put into these things, why would they not have a changeable "default" for command+ such that a user could set it once and forget it instead of having to re-do for each and every email?

Even more difficult to understand, is it possible that command+ does not work at all in email compose? If true, why would Apple do this? Any possible work around? I called Apple phone support and they told me to boost the font size in mail preferences and then, after typing each message, command-A, fonts, reduce back to 12. I was amazed they would expect a user to do this for each and every email composed.

In high-res, 12 pt font appears on the screen to be about 1/8th of an inch high. I cannot imagine sitting close enough to a 24" screen to make that comfortably readable. And, where I keep my screen, about 3 feet from my chair... Why would Apple come up with Command+, have it work on each and every screen except mail compose?:eek:

Please - help???
    T.I.A.

2. Ashka macrumors 6502a

Ashka

command + does work in the compose message field just click in the field first to select.