Noob is puzzled

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by .\\axxx, Oct 16, 2011.

1. .\\axxx macrumors newbie

Hi,
    I'm an experienced developer but very new to the Mac and Objective C

I'm teaching myself by developing a game. One thing has be confused. (To be honest, about a thousand things have me confused, but this one is just puzzling the poop out of me!)

I have a class with a property defined as

Code:
    @property (nonatomic, retain) NSMutableArray* terrain;
    and in the class I have

Code:
    @synthesize terrain;
    Then, in a method I have

Code:
    -(void)setUpLayer
    {
        self.terrain = foo;
    }
    All good, works fine.

Originally, I had the following code:
    Code:
    -(void)setUpLayer
    {
        terrain = foo;
    }
    which built fine, and ran but crashed on that line.

I guess that if you have to specify self. then that's just the way things are (I come from a C# background mainly, where the equivalent is to use this.terrain or just terrain pretty much interchangeably) but I don't understand why it would compile?

What does 'terrain = foo;' mean, if not self.terrain = foo;?

2. Sydde macrumors 68020

Sydde

When you use self.terrain, you are actually making a method call which, in this case, would look something like
    Code:
    - (void)setTerrain:(NSMutableArray *)array {
       if ( terrain != nil ) [terrain release];
       terrain = [array retain];
    }
    This method, along with the complementary getter method, is created by the compiler when you invoke @synthesize — unless you actually write one or both of these methods yourself.

When you use terrain without the dot-syntax, you are directly accessing the ivar itself (which could be important if you are using KVO). I suspect you may be having some kind of ARC-related issue.

3. xStep macrumors 68000