Noob needs help with buing advice and some questions

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by devincco, Oct 17, 2007.

1. devincco macrumors member

devincco

Hi All

I could really use some advice. I apologize for the long post but I am a video camera noob and need some help in being pointed in the right direction. I am looking for a video camera that will be good for capturing all the baby/kid moments, sports, plays, family events, etc. I’d also like to take it hiking every once in a while. I would like to be able to use it on both a Mac and Windows PC. I am leaning towards either a MiniDV or HDD camera, more towards HDD because I really like the size, weight, speed of transferring the video to the PC, and convenience (not having to hassle with tapes or DVD’s). If someone can make a really strong case for a DVD camera I’d gladly listen. It’s just my friends that own them say that after using it they would have rather gone with MiniDV or HDD. Taking stills is a nice little feature, but not huge feature for me as I have 2 other cameras for taking stills. I’d like to try and stay around $500.

1) Can someone recommend a decent MinDV or HDD camera in this price range that works on both computer platforms? I’ve read reviews there are just so many out there it’s confusing, especially for a noob. Plus not many of the reviews say anything about the computer platform.
    2) Is there really a difference in a camera using 3CCD like the Panasonic PC-GS300 over a single CCD camera? The Panasonic is one that I saw that I did like.

Also…

This past weekend I was at one of my local camera stores and was talking with one of the salesmen. He said a couple of things that boggled my mind.

1) Sony’s cameras in general don’t work well with Macs. MiniDV or HDD models.
    2) JVC’s HDD models work with Macs, but not the base model GZ-MG155. Lowest model number I could get would be the GZ-MG255. And that he wouldn’t recommend.