noob quastion about Points

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by woker2012, Jul 2, 2012.

1. woker2012 macrumors newbie

hey,
    lets say i want to make a method that take a point class object (x,y) as an argument.. i cant figure what`s the deference between:

1) -(void) getPoint : (Point*) aPoint;

2) -(void) getPoint : (Point) *aPoint;

where should i put the * sign? and why?

tnx alot!

2. chown33 macrumors 604

Have you tried them both? What happened in each case?

3. taedouni, Jul 2, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2012

taedouni macrumors 65816

I am assuming that you are using the book Programming in Objective C -4e by Kochan. Here is my code as follows:

From my understanding the * is used as a pointer/reference. Basically it references where the data is stored (if I am not mistaken, I am still new to all of this, I did a little C++ in College and other than that I used MATLAB).
    You only want to use the * when you define an object from your class, see my code: XYPoint *newpoint=[XYPoint new];

I am pretty positive that (point) is incorrect since it is not a type (e.g. int, double, float, char).

If I am wrong please forgive me. Good luck and let me know how it worked out.

4. taedouni macrumors 65816

Code:
    #import <Foundation/Foundation.h>

//Interface   (XY cordinate class)

@interface XYPoint : NSObject

-(void) print;
    -(void) SetPointX : (int) x;
    -(void) SetPointY : (int) y;
    -(int) Xpoint;
    -(int) Ypoint;

@end

//Implementation (XYPoint)
    @implementation XYPoint

{
        int Xpoint;
        int Ypoint;
    }

-(void) print
    {
        NSLog(@"The XY point is (%i,%i)",Xpoint,Ypoint);
    }

-(void) SetPointX: (int) x
    {
        Xpoint=x;
    }

-(void) SetPointY: (int) y
    {
        Ypoint=y;
    }

-(int) Xpoint
    {
        return Xpoint;
    }

-(int) Ypoint
    {
        return Ypoint;
    }
    @end

int main(int argc, const char * argv[])
    {

@autoreleasepool {

XYPoint *newpoint=[XYPoint new];