Noob questions on a 5,1 upgrade plan

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fuchsdh, Sep 18, 2014.

  1. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    fuchsdh

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #1
    So after crunching numbers on cost/year, yadda yadda, I've decided to just give myself a boost over my current rig. I came into a 5,1 2.8 Quad (MC250LL/A) for cheap, and plan on following this Macrumors guide to perform a CPU upgrade to a 3.33 hex.

    A question: Given that this is a 5,1 and the CPU upgrade is a Westmere, I can get 1333MHz RAM to upgrade rather than 1066MHz, correct?
     
  2. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #2
    1333mhz is correct. Macsales and crucial make really good modules.
     
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #3
    Yes, Indeed 1333 MHz RAM will work just fine. You can also use an X5680, same speed, but will handle more RAM if the need ever arises. However, let price be your guide.

    Lou
     
  4. drac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    #4
    The W3690 with the hex 3.46 is frequently no more expensive than the 3.33:cool:
     
  5. fuchsdh thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fuchsdh

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #5
    Well too late, already ordered :cool:

    Not a big worry though, since I got the guy on eBay to sell it to me for $40 off the median price. Not going to fret about a few MHz.

    So I guess my only remaining question is about the heat spreaders. The best advice I've seen was simply to try undertightening it, although that was from a guy who fried his board the first time along: http://www.anandtech.com/show/2800/upgrading-and-analyzing-apple-s-nehalem-mac-pro/11

    On the other hand, he says that the quad-core Nehalems had the IHS, so maybe this won't be an issue with mine since there's already the room?
     
  6. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    Your 5.1 Single 2.8ghz is easier to upgrade. The CPUs uses IHS just like the link you showed. It's only the 2009 dual CPUs that's tricky to upgrade like the guy who fried his board. The 2010 5.1 dual cpus uses IHS so it's also easy to upgrade.
     
  7. fuchsdh thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fuchsdh

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #7
    Excellent. Need all the assistance I can get as this'll be my first CPU upgrade. I'll probably post my tale of success and/or woe when I get the parts!
     
  8. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #8
    Here's a video of a 2010 single 2.8ghz cpu upgrade for your reference https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5p08Oh--TaU Good Luck :)
     
  9. stmp, Sep 19, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2014

    stmp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    #9
    Edit: Sorry just realized this is the wrong thread, moved my question accordingly.
     
  10. gochi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
  11. CASLondon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #11
    You don't need washers to upgrade either a 5,1 or a 4,1 quad. I'm not sure you should ever use them on the dual 4,1 either, frankly, but that divides opinions like mustards or vinegars.

    There is no change in the fit of these heat sinks, unlike with the lidless CPUs.
     
  12. fuchsdh thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fuchsdh

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #12
    The 5,1? $599 (that includes some Kona cards I'll probably just sell off or package with my old rig to improve resale.)
     
  13. fuchsdh thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fuchsdh

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #13
    Ok, so it's done! I guess while the fact that I haven't fried it in the ten minutes since I powered on is a good sign, wondering what temps people get on it so I can see if mine are in line? I did some quick checks on the original CPU while and after I was running benchmarks and got (in °F)

    CPUA Tdiode 140/127/123
    CPUA Core 0 85/92/100
    CPU Heatsink 115/115/112

    Currently I've got the following while idle:

    CPUA Tdiode 91
    CPUA Core 0 153
    CPUA Heatsink 87

    That Core temp seems higher than it should be (I'm running around 129° on both CPUs in my 3,1 presently on which I type.) Or am I being paranoid?

    (Fans speeds are given as: Booster 1 856RPM, Exhaust 599RPM, Slots 1073RPM, Intake 600RPM, Power 667RPM).
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    That's NOT the core temperature.

    That's the temperature of "How far from processor hot state". Therefore, the higher the better.

    It means now you are still 153F below the CPU temperature limit.

    You can try to stress your CPU by running Handbrake. This temperature should drop a lot but never hit 0.
     
  15. fuchsdh thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fuchsdh

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #15
    See, this is good to know. I wish they had more explanation of what the iStat abbreviations are. :) Thanks for the clarification.
     

Share This Page