normal PC Graphics card shows up in PCI Devices

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by LightBulbFun, May 14, 2017.

  1. LightBulbFun macrumors 65816

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #1
    Just figured id make a quick post documenting this interesting find

    I noticed while i was testing a GPU I was recently given in my Mac Pro that when I went to PCI devices it did not error out but it actually listed the GPU (and other PCI devices) properly! when i tried another GPU (a Geforce 210) it gave me the normal error... interestingly OS X says a link speed of 2.5GTs tho i did not check beyond this to see if it was running at 5GTs or not

    just found it quite interesting so i figured id document it :) (this is with OS Xs stock drivers interestingly it looks like the Tesla architecture GPU drivers are based on the 310 branch in sierra)

    Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 20.42.31.png
     
  2. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #2
    Do you have HDMIAudio.kext installed? It seems that it can be responsible for that but I'm not 100% sure.
    PCI Info.png Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 12.19.50 AM.png Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 6.19.14 PM.png
    All screenshots are from the PC cards - R9 280X capture is with BIOS switch in UEFI position, hence the HD7xxx name.
     
  3. LightBulbFun thread starter macrumors 65816

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #3
    interesting very interesting :) Just gave me a thought tho... i dont think the GeForce 9500GT has any sort of audio device where as the GeForce 210 does. I wonder if its the audio part of an un flashed video card that causes PCI devices to error out...

    I dont have HDMIAudio.kext installed in my system (and as said putting in another card just returns the classic error)

    on a note tho I thought HDMIAudio.kext stopped working a few OS X versions back or was there an update to it that enabled it to function again?
     
  4. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #4
    If i knew anything about that i could make an educated guess, but i don't :D
    It is a interesting thought though!
    Don't know, I've connected my cMP to a TV a few months ago, when i moved from a house to a flat, so I've tried R9 280X and GTX 980 on 10.11.6 and 10.12.4. The only thing is that GTX980 won't send audio through HDMI, so you have to buy a DP to HDMI adapter for it to work. HDMIAudio kext is at ver 1.1, so that might be the update.

    In any case, i was searching for a cause of this PCI info behavior but now we have a topic where some thing might be explained after all.
     
  5. LightBulbFun thread starter macrumors 65816

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #5
    interesting :)

    I dont think HDMIAudio has been updated since i last checked but if you could link me to where you downloaded it from that would help :)

    all in all its quite interesting :) I dont think I own any other un-flashed compatible GPUs that dont have an audio chip. ill have to poke around at some point tho :)

    I am thinking its the audio portion of the Graphics card thats causing the PCI error on un flashed cards...
     
  6. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #6
    Looks that way, since from installing Web Drivers for the Maxwell GPU and seeing PCI info not showing error I've just applied install.sh from the HDMIAudio.dmg...

    I've attached the kext, you have it in the topic but you'll have to search for v1.1.
    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/guide-hdmi-audio.1499797/
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page