Norton Antivirus Hanging Around

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Pastorius, Apr 19, 2008.

  1. Pastorius macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1
    So recently I had to reinstall Leopard, since my Macbook Pro started acting up and would refuse to go past the loading spinny-circle thing when I turned on my mac. That was all fine, and I loaded up all my files with Time Machine afterwards - problem is, I don't back up my apps (for fairly obvious reasons, the main being that they take up a lot of space). So I just re-downloaded the apps I use and I was on my way. However, for some reason Norton Antivirus still seems to be hanging around... and without the applications folder, I can't uninstall it (the uninstaller doesn't let me). I'm pretty sure it can still run, because QuickMenu is able to scan mounted hd's and such. Norton is becoming a real pain, and keeps quarantining one specific file and telling me about it... even though I can't actually start up Norton to delete the file. Any suggestions? I don't want to muck around with the registry before I get some input.

    Thanks a lot!

    Edit: Oh, I also forgot to mention that AutoProtect also seems to still be installed. And the worst part: both AutoProtect and QuickMenu still appear on my system preferences window!
     
  2. mwcollector101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #2
    Same here ..

    I hate it .. i dont know what to do, i tried to reinstall, restart and uninstall but it keeps on hanging and not responding. I have no choice but to force reboot my mac book. argh!!! i hope someone will help!
     
  3. spooky mulder macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Location:
    ca
    #3
    just quick question.... why do you even have norton? Just curious.....

    when you put the norton disk in, does it have an uninstall feature?
     
  4. mwcollector101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #4
    finally ...

    finally i did it.. after 2 wasted hours. So, i opened terminal and force quit the running process, i execute this command "lsof -l | grep sym". It will list all symantec application running as process, the check the PID and kill it (kill [PID]). Then, i reinstalled the software again, this time I disabled all "auto" and I scanned few files then I quit the program. In the application folder, i run the uninstaller and it works.
     
  5. mwcollector101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #5
    Thanks spooky mulder for your concern...

    Just quick question.... why do you even have norton? Just curious..... >> I'm have few trojans and i need to scan.

    when you put the norton disk in, does it have an uninstall feature? Yes it has uninstall, but its pretty bad, everytime I run it, it causes my system to hang, everything gets frozen, i have to force reboot it (I think, i was so harsh doing it for 10 times)... it was really pain in the ass.
     

Share This Page