Norton on MacBook?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by VintageMac, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. VintageMac macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #1
    I am having possible directory problems on my MacBook 2.0 and can not find my original startup cd, grrrrrr. I tried to boot with my Norton SystemWorks 3.0, but I can not get it to boot by holding down "c" at start up. Is Norton SystemWorks 3.0 not compatable with the MB 2.0?

    Vintage Mac
     
  2. Too Many Toys macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #2
    I don't know the answer to your question, but I had bad results from Norton way back on a TiBook. I'd steer clear of Norton products on a a Mac, IMHO.
     
  3. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #3
    I'll go one further and steer clear of Norton products on any platform.
    Sorry I can't be of more help OP. What sort of directory problems are you having?
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Yes, Norton Systemworks 3 is not compatible with anything later than a G5 tower (maybe not even that) Systemworks is also notorious for completely trashing OSX hard drives. Please do not attempt to use it.

    DiskWarrior 4 is the tool of choice for reparing directory structures.
     
  5. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #5
    Thanks, your comments are helpful.

    As far as my directory problems-- that is what the tech at AppleCare thought it may be when I called for the first time last evening. Symptoms are that numerous programs always "quit unexpectantly" (eg. opening iCal, Addressbook, and Board Games; and also any website when you try to do a search within the site (eg. Wikipedia and YouTube), albeit only on each of my two daughter's login. It works fine on my login. The AppleCare tech said this is the first time he has heard of this in his three years with AppleCare. My 3 month AppleCare runs out tomorrow, but he did give me a case number so I should be okay.

    Vintage Mac
     
  6. Too Many Toys macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #6
    OEM RAM or any 3rd party RAM upgrades Vintage?


     
  7. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #7
    OEM RAM, no upgrades.

    Vintage Mac
     
  8. Too Many Toys macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #8
    VM, had you already installed Norton on the HD by chance? (Hope not) :(
     
  9. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #9
    No, I hadn't. Still haven't. Don't plan to.

    Vintage Mac
     

Share This Page