Not able to connect to server websites after upgrading from ML to El Capitan server

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by einarso, Mar 22, 2016.

  1. einarso, Mar 22, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016

    einarso macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    #1
    I just upgraded from Mountain Lion. Had a few glitches, but after a few clicks and changes the server is running. I do have access to mail and FTP again, but I am not able to access my websites. I am able to ping (i.e. altikost.no), but nothing via the web. I suspect there is supposed to be a green light next to the sites in the websites server settings (see picture).

    [​IMG]







    I have a few theories:

    1) After installing, I got this message:

    Obsolete firewall running
    This server is running a firewall set up by an earlier version of OS X Server. The obsolete firewall may interfere with the operation of Server services. For more information, please visit http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5413.

    Could this have something to do with not beeing able to reach the sites?



    2) I remember originally when I installed the ML server, I had to do something in terminal regarding apache or something... is it possible something is not running that should be running?



    3) The DNS setup is different in the new server app. I do not know how to set up the DNS and if there is anything I need to do there. Perhaps something wrong here? (see pictures of old and new settings)

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]





    Hope someone can help me, cause my wife is really starting to give me some grief because of the down-time....
    --- Post Merged, Mar 22, 2016 ---
    When I try: "apachectl configtest" in terminal, I get:

    httpd: Syntax error on line 527 of /private/etc/apache2/httpd.conf: Syntax error on line 8 of /private/etc/apache2/other/+php-osx.conf: Cannot load /usr/local/php5/libphp5.so into server: dlopen(/usr/local/php5/libphp5.so, 10): Symbol not found: _unixd_config\n Referenced from: /usr/local/php5/libphp5.so\n Expected in: /usr/sbin/httpd\n in /usr/local/php5/libphp5.so



    Has perhaps something to do with my problem?
     
  2. DJLC macrumors 6502a

    DJLC

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    #2
    I'm not terribly familiar with Apache in OS X Server these days, but...

    1) I think you probably need DNS entries for those other domain names, depending on your configuration. Do you use this server as a DNS server on a local network? Does server.livetstre.net work?
    2) Your problem is more likely to be an issue with httpd.conf. My guess is that it wasn't updated for whatever reason and is now calling an older version of PHP that no longer exists. Not sure exactly what you'd need to tweak to fix that, though. :(

    EDIT: I'm able to load server.livetstre.net from here and get your OS X Server landing page. So I'm thinking you need to add the other domains in the DNS tab. Then see if PHP is working, assuming you have any PHP stuff running.
     
  3. einarso thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    Thanx for the tips :)

    I have now gone back to a clone of my Mountain Lion setup. So everything works, but is not updated...

    When I updated the the server, I had an issue while updating... the server shut down late during the installation process. I turned it on a couple of times but it always shut down again. I had to start up recovery and choose to install again. Perhaps this screws up the updating process.

    I then tried to update the clone HD, and the same happened. Late in the update process, the laptop (I connected the clone to) just shut down. Not able to continue the installation process.

    I am now going to try a clean installation of El Capitan and see if I manage to set up everything again and exporting/importing all services/data/files I need... Will be surprised if I manage to do it :)
    --- Post Merged, Mar 23, 2016 ---
    ps: I really don't know what I am using the DNS service for... If I turn the service off on my functioning setup, everything still seems to work....
     
  4. DJLC macrumors 6502a

    DJLC

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    #4
    Haha, that always works! :)

    I'm thinking you need the DNS service to properly configure all your domains. But I could be wrong; see how it looks in ML and you should be able to more or less duplicate that setup in ElCap.
     

Share This Page