Not able to connect with 3G, only Edge

Discussion in 'iPad' started by DaneGuy, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. DaneGuy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #1
    I've never been able to connect with 3G even though my phone shows that I'm in a 3G area. Anyone else have this problem or know a fix?

    Thanks
     
  2. briankwest77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
  3. DaneGuy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #3
    Yes. I've been all over the country: San Francisco, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh....
     
  4. nodootabooteet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #4
    I had this same problem. My Blackberry would show strong 3g connection but my iPad would show little to no signal. I had talked to my carrier (using Rogers here in .CA) and they did not know what to tell me! Talked to Apple and they walked me through several steps. I ended up doing a complete restore to factory settings as suggested by Apple.

    In the end I walked into an Apple store with it and (even though I purchased online) and talked to my 'Genius' and he ended up replacing it. My NEW iPad works great! It turns out that I had a DUD all along.

    They didn't replace it with one from a retail box. The replacement models are brand new, but come in a 'mail back' box. I couldn't have been happier!

    Not sure if this helps...
     
  5. DaneGuy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #5
    Damn. I hope I don't have to do that. I guess I'd have to restore it to factory settings since I'm JB'd. :(
     
  6. gigaguy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    I've had a somewhat? similar issue that I haven't seen anywhere here., I jb too, and unless I activated 3G and maybe even left 3G antenna turned on BEFORE I jb, I could never get 3G service after I jb, only Edge.

    but once I reset all to factory, made sure 3G was on, and then jb I always get 3G fine. If I did not do this, I always only got edge.
    It was odd. works perfectly but only if I do the set up as indicated. I haven't found anyone else having this issue.
    I had had a genius appointment after tech at Apple and ATT could not get 3G connecting, after lots of resets etc. later I starting toubleshooting myself, then I unjailbroke, reformatted and 3G worked fine. I cancelled my appt seeing as it was related to the jb. then I just turned on 3G first, it all works fine.
     
  7. DaneGuy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #7
    So you had to do the JB while you were connected to 3G? I'm not sure I have 3G at my house......

    Also, I'm not sure I saved my pre-jb settings. How do I go back to factory?
     
  8. gigaguy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    There definitely was an issue with my jb sequence and getting 3G signals. I tried it 2 or 3 times. I'm a little confused as to what happened, but I could definitely replicate this problem so I don't think it was an error. Both times I jailbroke and did not either activate 3G or turn it on first I could never get 3G to connect after the jb, only Edge. Just turning on the antenna may have been good enough. It seemed like it was not a signal issue, more like the 3G function was interrupted or blocked. I tried it multiple times and always got consistent results, -no 3G when I jb with 3g turned off, and always 3G when I jb with 3G turned on.
    for factory settings, in itunes you do restore.
    good luck, wondering what you found out.
     

Share This Page