Not able to install the downloaded apps :(

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by soamz, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. soamz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #1
    Hi..
    I have an iPod Touch since a year now.
    I always used to download the apps directly on App Store on iPod Touch and never had iTunes.
    Now, I got a new iMac and thought of doing it from the iTunes.

    So, I connected the iPod Touch and browsed some apps on iTunes App Store and downloaded them.

    Then when i went to APPS tab, I was not able to select anyything.

    When I checked the SYNC APPS, it said, it will remove all existing data and install the new ones.


    I thought, Apple wont be a$$ to do that to a customer, who has wasted his months to gather and buy those apps.

    So, I just clicked on SYNC and boom, all gone :O:O:O:O:O

    Now, only the new ones were there and the whole old app data was wiped out :(
    WTF!

    I had to download everything all again and wasted 3 complete working days of mine. :(


    Well, my question is how can I install the downloaded apps on my iPod Touch , without hitting that god damn SYNC button on Apps Tab ?

    Is there a way for that ?
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    When you connected your iPod to your computer, it should've given an option to transfer your purchases to the computer. Did it not ask that?
     
  3. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #3
    No bro, it dint ask for anything.

    And there are around 31 purchased apps and 121 free apps installed now.

    I need a way, so that when we SYNC, I should not lose those 152 apps.

    Is there a way for that ?

    Last time, I also tried with BACKUP , and when I synced and everything was removed, and I RESTORED, there was almost no app data in there..
    I was out of my mind :(
     
  4. iMac0765 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #4
    This happened because your Mac is not your "native" syncing computer. It was probably the one at Apple Store. There is no way to fix this, you have to restore to your new computer and delete everything.
     
  5. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #5
    I dont know, what you are talking..

    What should I do to backup my whole of the data ?

    Just tell me that, so that I can do that first.
    Thanks.
     
  6. tadad1 macrumors 6502a

    tadad1

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #6
    Is iTunes on your new mac logged into the same account you purchased the apps from?

    Have you authorized your new mac to the iTunes account that you purchased your apps from? (Menu bar>Store>Authorize This Computer...)

    Have you tried to manually transfer the apps to your new mac from your touch? (Menu bar>File>Transfer Purchases From iPod...)
     
  7. bmacir macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #7
    Just right click your ipod logo on iTunes and select "transfer purchases".

    Edit: and this:
     
  8. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #8
    But is it going to transfer all the free apps also, which are installed on the iPod now ?
    I just need it all.
     
  9. bmacir macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #9
    Sure
     
  10. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #10
    Ok,so here PURCHASES means, iTunes will consider free apps also and will transfer it to his storage memory, right ?

    Will it show me, what it has backed it up all ?
     
  11. bmacir macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #11
    Yes, and yes in the Apps section of your iTunes library.
     
  12. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #12
    Does that need internet connection or it will just import from iPod without any internet data transfer ?
     
  13. bmacir macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #13
    I would say no, but I'm not sure. Isn't it easier just to try it out than to post and wait for a reply? :D
     

Share This Page