Not an option in iTunes: "sync with this iPhone over wi-fi"

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by Clyde099, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. Clyde099, Oct 12, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2011

    Clyde099 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #1
    Hello. My iPhone is running iOS5 and iTunes is version 10.5.

    Both my MBP and iPhone are connected to the same network and connected via USB. However, the option to "sync with this iphone over wi-fi" doesn't show up on in iTunes under my Summary.

    Any one have any idea why?

    I already synced once or twice using USB and I've restarted both my computer and iPhone.

    Any help would be appreciated. Please and thank you.
     
  2. bidwalj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    #2
    when you connect your phone to itunes with the cable, you have to click the on the option to sync with wifi on the summery page.
     
  3. Craquehead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #3
    I'm having the same issue with my iPad2. The option is MIA. I'm running iTunes 10.5 (141) and IOS 5.

    I'm curious - Is your MBP connected via WiFi or Ethernet?
     
  4. Clyde099 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #4
    That's my issue. That option does not show up in iTunes.
     
  5. Craquehead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #5
    I'm not sure you read his post correctly. He has connected via USB, but the option to sync with wifi is flat out missing from the summary page.
     
  6. Clyde099 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #6
    Bummer. It's connected via Wi-Fi.
     
  7. Craquehead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #7
    What version of MacOS? I'm on 10.5.8
     
  8. jkim3691 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #8
    I have the same problem as well. I'm on 10.5.8 as well.
     
  9. Clyde099 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #9
    Same.
     
  10. jkim3691 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #10
    I feel like that might be the problem. We all have that in common. But I don't see why they would exclude us from that option.
     
  11. kolax, Oct 12, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2011
  12. bidwalj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    #12
    see if manually syncing with wifi works from your settings menu. its under general options. if the inital setup is correct, it should show what it should connect to.
     
  13. jkim3691 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #13
    No, we don't have ANY option to sync wirelessly.
     
  14. KHC831 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
  15. jkim3691 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #15
    IT'S NOT THERE. What don't you people get?
     
  16. Nachoconqueso macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #16
    Awful. Besides doing reinstalls, I have no answer. It definitely should show up.
     
  17. Moe UK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #17
    On the Windows version it doesn't even say wifi have the text is cut of it just says "sync this iPhone over..."

    Took me a while to work out that was the option.
     
  18. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #18
    In General -> iTuens Wi-Fi Sync.

    What do you have there?
     
  19. adztaylor macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #19
    No, once enabled in the iTunes settings and if you have enough battery power you can sync without being plugged in.
     
  20. nacho1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    #20
    Apparently you need to have something newer than 10.5.8, not happy.
     
  21. jkim3691 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #21
    A greyed out Sync Now button.
     
  22. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #22
    Ha, this thread is contagious. Was working for me, now it isn't!

    I plugged it into the mains to find the option in iTunes so I don't have to plug it into the mains, but it won't show up in iTunes now.

    EDIT: Well, maybe I've never actually been Wi-Fi syncing, it's only worked when I plugged my phone into my Mac - the "Sync Now" under Wi-Fi syncing becomes tappable. I assumed it was going over Wi-Fi, even though it was connected to my Mac.

    Guess I'm in the same boat as you guys.

    EDIT 2: Works now! Changed the channel on my router, works fine now. Had problems in the past with the Apple TV not showing up in iTunes because of the wireless channel I was using.
     
  23. Illumination macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #23
    If this is true (and it may not be), I'm not surprised at all. :rolleyes:
     
  24. alexandru macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #24
    its not there

    WIFI sync doesnt work.

    I dont have any option in iTunes. I have updated the iTunes and still nothing.

    Apple used to do do amazing things, since Lion, i feel they are pushing apps with a lot of bugs and untested.

    BTW did anyone manage to see the notifications in the lock screen on the iPhone 4, with iOS5? Its not working on mine.

    Alex
     
  25. nacho1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    #25
    I downloaded the IOS5 GM last week and searched it up and yeah I read that you need at least Snow Leopard otherwise the option doesn't come up in the iTunes tab.
     

Share This Page