Not just another font bold problem

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by funguru, Jan 23, 2010.

1. funguru macrumors newbie

I have been using windows for the last 10 year now and finally decided to switch to mac.. i am designer and do a lot of photoshop work and web design. I noticed on mac that some of the fonts on websites seems bold while others are normal link in the PC... i thought it is just a safari issue and so i downloaded firefox, but the problem was in both. I changed the setting in safari for font but that did not help. I tried system preferences and made the lcd font rendering thing to not less than font 12 that did help but only in safari and not in FF... i have searched various forums but nothing helped. i am very new to mac so please suggest something which i can do to get this working straight.. i design websites and if what is design on mac is going to look weird on PC's the the whole point of switching to make would be a waste..

2. pyramis macrumors member

Could you post a screenshot with comparisons of unusual versus expected behavior? That would help a lot.

3. funguru thread starter macrumors newbie

screen shots attached.. hope this helps.

Attached Files:

4. funguru thread starter macrumors newbie

5. Gregg2 macrumors 603

Replies are a dime a dozen. You'll need 12 more after this one to get your dime's worth.

I don't know why it would be doing that. I've never designed a web site. My intuition tells me that it's not the difference between the Mac OS and Windows that causes it. Maybe a quirky font? Do you notice the same thing with multiple fonts, or only a few of them?

6. funguru thread starter macrumors newbie

strange enough... the font is the same as in all over the website.. and pretty much everthing is a bold just the degree varies. Some are just a little bold which does not bother me but then some (in the example) are close to breaking the layout.

7. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution